Wishlist Wednesday | Canada Reads 2016 Shortlist

This morning, the 15th annual Canada Reads shortlist was announced! If you’re unfamiliar with Canada Reads, it’s basically a “battle of the books” competition. Over the course of 4 days, 5 panelists, moderated by host Wab Kinew, will come together to champion the book that they believe represents this year’s theme — starting over — the most. It’s always fun to watch, and even more fun when you’ve read all of the books!

So, this week, here are the books that I’m adding to my wish list:

  • Birdie by Tracey Lindberg
  • Bone and Bread Saleema Nawaz
  • The Illegal by Lawrence Hill
  • The Hero’s Walk by Anita Rau Badami
  • Minister Without Portfolio by Michael Winter

Do you watch Canada Reads? Have you read any of the books on the shortlist?

8 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday | Canada Reads 2016 Shortlist

  1. The Paperback Princess says:

    Did I miss you changing your blog template recently? If so, it looks awesome! If this is how it’s been for a while, I still like it.

    I was all set to read Sweetland (longlisted) and then this morning I saw it didn’t make the cut. Definitely want to read all of these. Last time I read the winner and the one Lainey championed but I think it will be a way better experience to have read them all ahead of time. Seems like a solid list – Lawrence Hill never disappoints.

    • Karen says:

      Haha! Thank you, Eva 🙂

      Yes, I’ve read the descriptions for all of these books and they all sound fantastic. I’m hoping that I can read them all before the debates start. I will say that I’ve read half of The Illegal and I’ve already teared up once. I really have no good reason for why I put it down – the parts that I read were really, really good.

  2. Naomi says:

    I’ve read The Illegal, which was good (of course), and I just picked up Birdie from the library today. I’m hoping to read them all, but I will at least read as many as I can. Sometimes it depends on library availability. Last year, When Everything Feels Like the Movies didn’t arrive until about a month after the debates. But it’s fun to try!

    • Karen says:

      Oooh! Will you be reviewing the shortlist, Naomi? I’d love to hear your thoughts on them! It’s definitely fun to try reading the shortlist before the debates; I’ll admit that I’ve never succeeded. (Oops!)

  3. writereads says:

    I love Canada Reads, but I haven’t read any of these books. I’ve got Birdie on hold at the library…I know it sounds terrible, but I’m not sure about the other books and how much they interest me…does that make me a horrible person?
    But usually, listening to the panelists makes me want to read a book. I thought Cockroach was too dark a book for me to be attracted to 2 years ago, but Samantha’s amazing job on the panel made me run out and buy it. -Tania

Leave a Reply

