Inside The Mind of a “Bookstagrammer”

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Happy Monday, friends! It seems as though my Monday Musings have been eluding me these past few weeks (could I have mused about everything there is to muse about already? I’m sure the answer is no) so I’ve decided to take a break from musing and write about something else instead: bookstagram! I’ve been spending more and more time on bookstagram — aka bookish Instagram — lately and this has come with a few side effects. I wonder if any of you relate to this?

As I’ve gotten more invested in bookstagram, I’ve noticed that I’m always on the lookout for pretty environments to use in my photos, almost to a comical degree. Oh, I’m visiting my boyfriend’s mom’s house? Time to see where I can bookstagram! (No lie: the photo above was taken at such a visit.) Going away? Yaaaaas! New bookstagram opportunities! I find myself constantly searching for something beautiful to photograph with a book in tow; and while I don’t think this is necessarily a bad thing, it’s still a somewhat weird compulsion.

Another side effect of bookstagram is probably how silly I look whilst trying to get the perfect shot. It’s not enough to make me stop, but I often wonder what it’s like to be with me while I’m shooting away. I don’t often bookstagram while with other people in public, but still.

The thing is, I’ve always been into photography. Before I was a book blogger I had a photography blog where I challenged myself to post a photo a day. I used to dream of being a professional photographer, rollicking in fields with people and making beautiful art, snapping memories for families to cherish forever and ever. And while my dreams have evolved into something else, I still can’t kick the fact that I love taking pictures. Bookstagram has become the perfect marriage between my two passions, so despite the manic location scouting and potentially embarrassing photo taking, it’s not something I see myself giving up.

Are you on bookstagram? Do you get a little bit obsessive like I do? What’s the strangest thing you’ve done for a photo? (If you want to be friends on Instagram, you can find me at @onemorepageblog!)

7 thoughts on “Inside The Mind of a “Bookstagrammer”

  1. The Writing Duo says:

    I totally get this! We’ve been bookstagramming since 2014. And though a lot of our pics are also personal, we still try to find that “perfect setting” to take a pic–sometimes so often my mom asks us, “Have you posted on Instagram today?” Lol. Great post!

  2. La La in the Library says:

    I am not on IG. Kindle doesn’t have an IG app. They have this knock off weird one called Padgram where I can get on IG and look, but I can’t follow or comment. Dumb. I do go and look at my favorite accounts and it kills me that I cannot comment! If I can follow via laptop, I haven’t figured out out yet. Ha ha. I have been saving for a better camera so I can take IG style photos for my blog and Tumbler, though. I also always go and look at the photos when people tweet their links on Twitter. Of course I see the pics you post on Facebook, too. 🙂

  3. Erin says:

    I don’t know if I’ve done anything strange for a photo – although I did lie on dried mud to take a picture of dried grass in the sunlight once. The most interesting photo I’ve taken was creating a Daguerreotype in high school and taking a picture of the school yard.

  4. The Paperback Princess says:

    hahahaha I know EXACTLY how you feel. My husband always laughs at me when he sees me “staging” a shot. I try really hard to do most of it when no one else is around because, unfortunately, as bookish introverts, it’s impossible to be comfortable doing this when other people are watching. I always really enjoy your instagram photos though so you’re doing an excellent job. Nice that your two passions can come together so well!

  5. Naomi says:

    Ha! I’m picturing you contorting your body in the park to get that perfect shot. 🙂
    I love the photos you take. Every time I see them I think I should do it, too. And then I don’t. I also keep thinking it would be fun to join the bookish instagram community, but then I don’t do that either. Maybe if I teamed up with one of my daughters it would actually be possible…
    I agree with Eva that it’s so nice for you that your 2 passions can come together so well!

  6. Leah says:

    I haven’t gone too deep into bookstagram, but I can’t resist ‘gramming a particularly pretty book. I always love your posts; they’re so lovely!

Leave a Reply

