May 2014

Monthly Summary May 2014 One More Page

Books bought/borrowed/received/won:

*Enders by Lissa Price
*This One Summer by Jillian Tamaki and Mariko Tamaki
*Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
*No Relation by Terry Fallis
*Frog Music by Emma Donoghue
*The Girl Who Was Saturday Night by Heather O’Neill
*The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer
*Burial Rites by Hannah Kent
*Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan
*Moving Sideways Forwards Like A Crab by Shani Mootoo
*The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman
*Stay Where You Are and Then Leave by John Boyne
*The Confabulist by Steven Galloway
*A Complicated Kindness by Miriam Toews
*Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson
*To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
*The House Girl by Tara Conklin
*Little Bee by Chris Cleave
*The Transcriptionist by Amy Rowland

Books read:

*Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (My Goodreads Review)
*No Relation by Terry Fallis (Review)
*The Girl Who Was Saturday Night by Heather O’Neill (Review)
*The Transcriptionist by Amy Rowland (Review)
*The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman
*To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Other reviews:
*Then and Always by Dani Atkins (Review)

Holy moly. I did not realize how many books I added to my shelves this month. I think a book buying ban might be in my future… *sob*

Anyway, this was a very busy month for me! One of the highlights was being invited to have lunch with Lissa Price, the author of the Starters and Enders duology. I was so excited, nervous, and honoured to be invited! This was my first author lunch event and it was such a great experience. Lissa was so friendly, and so were all the bloggers I met! The food was delicious and it was just such a great time talking about books! Thank you so much Random House Canada for inviting me! You can read more about my experience here.

In my personal life, I took a cross-country greyhound out to Vancouver this month and boy… was it an experience! The bus ride was three days long which was a bit challenging, as sleeping on the bus was difficult. But it was also an amazing experience; the prairies were stunning (also, very flat) and I felt so overwhelmed when we were being (what felt like) engulfed by the mountains in Banff. I never noticed or cared for the mountains when I was living in the west coast, but now that I’m living in mountain-less Toronto I definitely feel their absence. It was so wonderful getting to see my friends again, and I hope to see them again soon in the future.

Reading wise, I felt like my month was a little slump-y. It took a while for me to find my groove, but I ended up loving quite a few books! The Girl Who Was Saturday Night, No Relation, and To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before were standouts. I can’t wait to see what June brings!

Did you read any great books in May? Were there any standout moments this month?

12 thoughts on “May 2014

  1. The Paperback Princess says:

    May seems like it was a huge month for you! You really did add a lot of books to your shelves! I’m jealous – I think I’m finally coming out on the other side of my book buying ban. It seemed like for a while there I had so many books that I still had to read but looking towards my next read, I don’t have too many options left! I’m dying to read The Ocean at the End of the Lane – how was it?

    I can’t imagine a 3 day bus ride but I would love to see that much of Canada. And yeah – the mountains are definitely something you take for granted out here. I can’t imagine living without them though.

    • kmn04books says:

      The Ocean of the End of the Lane was quite good. I didn’t know what to expect going into it, but it was strange and quirky and magical. If any of those adjectives sound appealing to you, I’d say give it a try! It recently came out in paperback too.

      Haha the 3 day bus ride was definitely trying at times, but I don’t regret doing it. You’re lucky to live near the mountains. They really have a calming effect. I miss them already!

  2. Naomi says:

    What a great month! So many books, and so many great experiences. I must have missed your post about lunch with Lissa Price. I just read it now, and it sounds amazing. I’m curious to hear about To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. And, I’m anxious to read No Relations. I will have to get my hands on it!

    • kmn04books says:

      To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before was very good! It’s a young adult read and out of the contemporary young adult books I’ve read lately it’s the one I’ve enjoyed the most. AND it’s a duology!! So I’m super excited about that.

      No Relation was a five star read for me (as I’m sure you know). I hear it’s less political than his previous works, but it’s very funny and entertaining. I would highly recommend it!

  3. Charlie says:

    Six books is really good. I guess you read on the coach? (Or do you get travel sick – so annoying!) Glad you got to see your friends and all the places you passed to get there. My favourite last month was Isla Morley’s Above.

    • kmn04books says:

      Haha I read on my Kindle on the bus, so it wasn’t too bad! Oohh, Above sounds very interesting. I’ll have to go look it up! Thanks for visiting and commenting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

