Monday Musings | Reading Habits #4 – Music

Rainbow Rowell Landline Audiobook Book Review Book Cover

I love music. I may not have the best taste in music, but I always get excited when listening to a new song for the first time or belting out old classics (ie. 90s/early 2000s pop) when I think no one can hear me. But because of this love (of singing out loud, along to lyrics), I have never been able to listen to music while reading. Maybe this will change as I learn to be more focused, but I find that I need all of my concentration when I read, especially since I’m prone to skimming.

But, if I did start playing some tunes in the background while I read, here would be my picks:

1. “Ink” by Coldplay (Ghost Stories, 2014)

I actually spent a lot of my time on the greyhound from Toronto to Vancouver last year listening to Coldplay’s newest album, Ghost Stories, whenever I wasn’t reading. For that reason, this album (and for some reason this song in particular), reminds me of the breathtaking rockies as well as time spent on that cramped bus with an ebook and way too much excitement to handle.

2. “Holocene” by Bon Iver (Bon Iver, Bon Iver, 2011)

I actually wrote many of my university papers to this song. It’s so calming, and the words are juuust hard enough to hear that there’s no risk of being distracted by the lyrics.

3. “Wait” by M83 (Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming, 2011)

This is another quiet song that I adore. The instrumentals are so gorgeous and atmospheric that I think it would be a great tune to read to.

What about you? Do you listen to music while you read? Do you have a reading playlist? Share your faves!

15 thoughts on “Monday Musings | Reading Habits #4 – Music

  1. Charleen says:

    I can’t read with music either, unless it’s instrumental… and even then, if it’s something I’m too familiar with, I’ll get too into the music and forget my book.

  2. joyousreads says:

    i used to be able to listen to music while I read. Nowadays, I find myself unable to concentrate. I need total silence. Mind you, I haven’t tried listening to classical music or anything instrumental. Perhaps that’ll work, too. 🙂

  3. Leah says:

    I have trouble reading while listening to music, too. The lyrics are too distracting! You’re right that Bon Iver is good for reading, though. (It’s also my go-to bubble bath music!) I also like more ambient music while reading, like Emancipator.

  4. The Paperback Princess says:

    I basically always listen to music when I read. When I’m on the bus reading, music serves to drown out all the ridiculousness that comes from sharing a bus with strangers. I’ve never had an issue listening to music with lyrics while I read. I find that it becomes background noise pretty easily. When I’m at home, I often read while my husband watches sports but given the choice at home. I prefer to put on classical. I’m not a huge music person though. I like it, some songs remind me of certain moments for sure but I rarely go to concerts and mostly it serves to drown out other things I don’t want to hear.

    • Karen @ One More Page... says:

      I think that’s actually one of the only times I listen to music when reading: to drown out others. For some reason doing that neutralizes itself in that the lyrics no longer distract me and the surrounding noise gets muffled just enough. Great point!

  5. jjoongie says:

    i’m a total music listener, no matter what i’m doing. i tend to listen to mostly classical music and korean rock/indie music, and, usually, i listen to whatever i’m in the mood for, unless i’m reading a book that has a great, specific mood, in which case i’ll look for music that fits that mood. 😀

Leave a Reply

