June 2014

Monthly Summary June 2014 One More Page Blog kmn04books

Books read:

*The House Girl by Tara Conklin
*Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey (Review)
*The Book of Unknown Americans by Cristina Henríquez (Review)
*We Were Liars by E. Lockhart (Review to come!)
*The Leftovers by Tom Perrotta (Review)
*The Rise & Fall of Great Powers by Tom Rachman (Review)
*This One Summer by Mariko Tamaki and Jillian Tamaki (Review)
*Tic-Tac-Tome by Willy Yonkers (Review)

So, since having to list soooo many books in the “books bought” section in my last monthly summary post, I did what any economically-sensible 20-something would do: I decided to not include that part in my monthly summary posts. 😛 This may change in the future because I do like sharing my TBR with you all but it just became such a hassle to keep track of!

Anyway, this month was a great one for me! I read 7 books, 4 of which were what I would consider 5 star reads (wow!), and got to attend some pretty great literary events like Luminato’s #ReadWomen2014 event, Luminato’s Literary Picnic, an advanced screening of HBO’s The Leftovers, IFOA’s weekly reading with Emma Healey, Tom Rachman, and Linda Holeman, aaaand I was lucky enough to be invited to have lunch with Emma Healey. I also made myself a list of 10 Things I’d Like to do This Summer (Besides Read)! I’ve already completed some of these tasks, so stay tuned for my update next week!

Outside of reading, my month has been pretty steady. The weather is finally feeling a bit more summery so I’ve been walking to the ice cream store and reading at the park a lot more! I love it. Those are probably two of my favourite things to do in the summer.

What a beautiful day for a @luminato #LiteraryPicnic!

A post shared by Karen M. (@onemorepageblog) on

Obligatory “I’m sitting on the grass” photo.

How was your June? Did you read anything great? What are you planning to read in July?

14 thoughts on “June 2014

  1. Naomi says:

    Sounds you had a great month! I am anxious to read those reviews that are yet to come! But, I’m going away in a couple of days, so just in case I miss them; which were your favourites? And, were there any that were only ho-hum? I’m especially curious about The House Girl.

    • kmn04books says:

      Unfortunately, The House Girl wasn’t my favourite. It was an interesting story but for some reason it didn’t hit the mark for me. I gave it 3.5 stars on Goodreads. My favourites were Elizabeth is Missing, The Book of Unknown Americans, This One Summer, and We Were Liars!

      • Naomi says:

        Well, I’m glad to hear it. I won’t have to add it to my giant list of books to read. 🙂 I guess I will have to add the other ones, though (one of which is already on it). Now I’m curious about This One Summer. I haven’t heard much about it yet.

    • kmn04books says:

      That’s fair! I don’t set a strict schedule for myself but I generally have a bunch of books that I’m excited for and want to read each month. The moment between books is such an exciting one!

  2. rivercityreading says:

    Glad you had such a good month – I think that many 5 stars at one time is pretty rare! I’m so excited that you’re reading and loving All the Light We Cannot See now, too!

    • kmn04books says:

      I finished it yesterday and man…. it was so good. I’m so happy that I finally picked it up! This year has been an awesome year so far in terms of 5 star reads!

  3. friendlybookworm says:

    Wow, you got through so many! I dedicated myself to some large reads (one book was over 600 pages and the other was 860 pages) so sadly my numbers are rather low. But for me it’s not so much about the numbers of books I get through as the quality of the books I read. That’s one of the reason’s I refuse to get involved in those book challenges, because I feel like I have to get through as many books as I can and really quick. But good work, are all those reviews up too?

    • kmn04books says:

      That’s funny that you mentioned the book challenges because I few months ago I wrote how I would not commit fully to reading 50 books; if I got there, I got there if not I wasn’t going to put too much pressure on myself because I do think that challenges like that can make someone choose to read shorter books or skim through books instead of savouring them and enjoying them. Turns out I did have to readjust my goal from 25 to 50 but that’s all good with me! Yep – the reviews for most of them are up! The links are beside the book titles in the list above! 😀

  4. Athira says:

    Your summer days sound beautiful! It’s too hot here to head out anywhere unless it’s the late evening hours, but I do love lounging in my back deck whenever possible. You read some great books last month – a few of those are in my must-read list!

    • kmn04books says:

      Aw, that’s too bad about the hot weather! Lounging on your deck sounds amazing! I don’t have a backyard or deck (I’m renting a basement apartment) so I’m really jealous of those who do! Which books are on your list? 🙂

Leave a Reply

