[Giveaway] Meeting… Lissa Price, Author of Starters and Enders

Starters and Enders by Lissa Price Book CoverHi everyone! Hope you’re having a great Friday. I just recapped my April and already May has been off to a great start! I was lucky enough to be invited by Random House Canada today to have lunch with the bestselling author Lissa Price from the Starters and Enders duology!

In the world of Starters and Enders, all adults have been wiped off the Earth by the Spore Wars. Only those who were vaccinated — children, teenagers, and seniors — are left. A body bank called Prime Destinations opens up, allowing teenagers to rent their bodies to seniors for a certain amount of time in return for a large sum of money. Our main character Callie, homeless and struggling to take care of her sick brother, decides to rent out her body. But what she gets is more than what she bargained for…

Los Angeles Grilled Cheese from Cheesewerks

Besides the amazing food (from Cheesewerks, a delicious cheese-centred comfort food restaurant), the best part of the event was being able to talk to Lissa Price and pick her brain about Starters and Enders and learn more about her writing process!  She told us that the inspiration for the series came to her when she was at a Costco waiting to get vaccinated. When she was there, she found out that they were limiting the shots to seniors and children and that made her wonder what would happen if something wiped out the unprotected adult/working population. With only the vulnerable seniors and children left on Earth, what would happen? How would they fend for themselves?

As someone who is not a fiction writer, I am always interested in hearing more about authors’ writing processes. Lissa told us that she uses the “headlight method.” She knows how her books are going to end when she’s writing, but she lets the events of the book flow and develop organically on the way there, planning only “as far as headlights can see.” This was the first time I’ve ever heard of this process but I think it’s a very smart one. When describing this, Lissa used another analogy that I found very spot on. She said that her characters were like a piece of marble waiting to be sculpted; they’re already inside, but it takes time to dig them out. Beautifully accurate, right?

Fans of the series will be happy to hear that Lissa is 100% on board with turning the series into movies! Nothing has been confirmed yet, but I think the books would look amazing on the big screen. There is a lot of cool stuff that happens in the books that I think would translate really well visually. I’m crossing my fingers!

Now, for the fun part! Lissa and Random House Canada were generous enough to provide me with a set of signed books for a giveaway! Entering is simple, just follow this link to the Rafflecopter widget:

 **ENTER GIVEAWAY HERE**

CONTEST RULES:
1. No purchase necessary
2. Open to residents of Canada and the US only
3. Please do not cheat on the tasks, I will be checking them once a winner has been chosen
4. If a winner is picked and their Twitter account only has giveaway entries, I will choose again. I want the winner to genuinely enjoy these books!
5. Have fun and good luck!

Meeting Lissa Price author of Starters and Enders

Thank you again to Lissa Price and Random House Canada! I had a lot of fun. For those available tomorrow, Lissa will be signing books at 1pm tomorrow May 3rd at Chapters Barrie!

Have you read Starters and/or Enders? What did you think?

9 thoughts on “[Giveaway] Meeting… Lissa Price, Author of Starters and Enders

  1. Jeann @ Happy Indulgence says:

    Wow, that is truly amazing how you got to hear about Lissa’s writer process and meet her! The headlight method sounds like a smart process that doesn’t require too much planning, as long as you have the goal in mind. Thanks for sharing lovely!

    • kmn04books says:

      Thank you for reading (and commenting)! I agree, the headlight method is so smart! Not being a writer myself I’m always fascinated by the writing process. 🙂

  2. Kaitlin says:

    This seems like this was an amazing experience, being able to have lunch with an author and ask her questions! I checked this book out as an audiobook, but since I don’t like listening to people read me a book and because I had a limited time to listen to it, I only got to listen to a couple chapters. I really liked it, though, and I would love to find out what happens in the story! I’m definitely going to read it instead of listen to it when I finish the book. Thank you for the giveaway!

    • kmn04books says:

      It was so much fun! It was my first time having lunch with an author – definitely very eye opening and exciting! I’m with you on the audiobook front – unless it’s a reread (or “relisten”) in this case, I don’t usually take to listening to people read. I think it might be because I’m more of a visual learner 😛 Glad you liked it though! Good luck!

  3. La La in the LiBrArY says:

    I read Starters and loved, loved, loved it!! I am ashamed to say I haven’t read Enders, yet. The books have a very unique storyline.

    • kmn04books says:

      I actually haven’t read Enders yet either, but I’m excited to start reading it! Good luck with the giveaway! Maybe you’ll be able to read Enders earlier than you think 🙂

Leave a Reply

