#GreenGablesReadalong | 5 Reasons Why I Love Anne of Green Gables

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

Hi everyone, happy Sunday! First off, I’d like to apologize for the unexpected blog silence. It’s been a very busy week and I’ve so far failed at scheduling posts (so much for those new year resolutions…). But! I am here today with a belated but exciting post! Lindsey from Reeder Reads is hosting an Anne of Green Gables readalong where participants will read one book in the series each month and I’m so excited to be a part of it. Click here to find the schedule and join us!

I’ve only read Anne of Green Gables once before, and that was for a class in university. (Shocking, I know!) But I have yet to meet anyone who can say they disliked the book once they’ve read it. I think a lot of it has to do with the strength of Montgomery’s characters – they are all so endearing, especially the fierce, imaginative Anne. If you haven’t read the series before, I would highly recommend it! And if you need extra convincing, here are 5 reasons why I love Anne of Green Gables:

5. The beautiful descriptions of Avonlea.

While Avonlea doesn’t exist in real life, L.M. Montgomery descriptions make you feel like you’re really there admiring all the greenery and beautiful landscapes. With her extensive descriptions, plus Anne’s made up names for places like “Lake of Shining Waters” and “Lover’s Lane,” you’ll feel like you’re right there basking in the Avonlea sunlight with the residents.

4. Matthew and Marilla.

When Matthew and Marilla find out that an orphan girl has been sent to them instead of the boy they requested, they don’t know what to do. Their initial reaction was to send her back (girls can’t really help Matthew in the field, after all!). But, after some consideration and some very amusing speeches by Anne, the siblings decide to keep her. Throughout the book, you’ll start to love them just as much as you love Anne; Matthew for his quiet and loving nature, and Marilla, for her stern appearance but secretly warm heart. Was there ever a more perfect fictional family?

3. Quotable moments.

“I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.” Have you heard this quote before? Yep, it’s just one of the many quotable things Anne says in Anne of Green Gables. Another one of my favourites is this gem about following fashion trends: “…I’d rather look ridiculous when everyone else does than plain and sensible all by myself.” Let’s bring puffed sleeves back, Anne.

2. The Gilbert/Anne competition.

Yes, every heroine needs a nemesis. In Anne of Green Gables, poor Gilbert Blythe struck the wrong chord when he made fun of Anne’s red hair. Anne, the master of holding grudges, becomes fiercely competitive with Gilbert every year in school. It’s so fun to read Anne’s one-sided hatred towards Gilbert when he’s so good-natured about their relationship for the most part. Will they ever become friends??

1. Anne Shirley

Anne, Anne, Anne. She is probably one of my favourite fictional characters ever. She has such a bright personality that you would have to be cold-hearted to not love her. She’s spunky and so full of life. Besides being a fun character to read, she also inspires me to exercise my imagination, and to love everything with all of my heart, from beautiful mornings to romantic writing. I will always thank L.M. Montgomery for creating such a vivacious character.

Have you read Anne of Green Gables? What is your favourite part of the book/series? Are you participating in the #GreenGablesReadalong? Don’t forget to use the hashtag on social media so we can all follow along together!

22 thoughts on “#GreenGablesReadalong | 5 Reasons Why I Love Anne of Green Gables

  1. Naomi says:

    There are so many reasons to love Anne of Green Gables! I think the main one for me are the wonderful and unforgettable characters. Lucy Maud is so good at dreaming them up. And, Gilbert, of course. Luckily, Gilbert will be following us along through the whole series. How I wished Gilbert was real when I was young…
    And the quotes. I almost did a post on just quotes from the book, because there are so many good ones. But, it was too hard to narrow it down. I could have quoted the whole book!
    I can’t remember- have you read any of the others yet?

  2. Alice says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever met anyone – frequent readers anyway – who don’t love Anne of Green Gables. I read it at Christmas and I loved it. I wasn’t Anne’s biggest fan, but she is an optimistic extroverted child and I am a pessimistic introverted adult, so there was bound to be conflict.

  3. Denise says:

    Yeah, it’s a great book – all about how the girl with a good nature and some spirit makes her way in life, despite her initial misfortunes. I knew someone who lived in PEI and was so disappointed to find out it was not a rural idyll, but a depressingly cold backwater where nothing happened and there were hardly any people!

  4. The Paperback Princess says:

    YAY you are reading along! I’m excited for you to read the rest of the series for the first time! I LOVE Anne of Avonlea and Anne of Windy Poplars. Oh Anne of the Island is also wonderful. And then Rilla of Ingleside! I want to read them all right now!
    Reading it this time I was really blown away by how quoteable the book actually is. I had completely forgotten that Anne said that about Octobers and I so agree. I’m with you and Anne on puffed sleeves – let’s see if we can all band together and make it happen.

    I read an LM Montgomery biography and she was always very upset that her work kind of obliterated the place and the lifestyle that she wrote about. Once Anne took off, people started heading to PEI and it was never the same.

    • Karen @ One More Page... says:

      Very true. I never really thought about the affect tourism had on LM Montgomery’s version of PEI, but that makes a lot of sense. I’m really excited to read the rest of the series!!! (And I agree – Anne is so quotable.)

Leave a Reply

