Monday Musings | It’s Okay to Take a Weekend Off

Jenny Han To All The Boys I Loved Before Book Cover

 [My Monday night is looking a little bit like this.]

I was bad this weekend. (Well, depending on how you define “bad.”)

How was I bad? I didn’t do any blog stuff at all! I didn’t even read! I spent my weekend relaxing, hanging out at home, resting, and eagerly awaiting Carly Rae Jepsen’s new single (which I LOVE.) I’ve written about my book blogger guilt before, but surprisingly, I didn’t feel too bad about it this weekend.

I think it may be all the talk around the blogosphere that has been making me feel this way. I really, really connected with Andi’s post reminding us all that we’re not Wonder Women, no matter how much we want to be. I never want to be in a position where I feel like my blog is a chore, or that I can’t take a few days off if work is unexpectedly busy, overwhelmed, or something’s come up in my “real life.” So, while I do love reading amazing books and writing posts to share with you, I’m also glad that I’ve come to terms that days off can (and should be) absolutely okay.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to go listen to this earworm again:

(My love for Carly Rae Jepsen will never die. Ever.)

Do you ever feel guilty when you take days off from blogging stuff? 

9 thoughts on “Monday Musings | It’s Okay to Take a Weekend Off

  1. Jade @ Bedtime Bookworm says:

    I’m working on being okay with this too! I just talked about it in my wrap-up LOL. I want to make blogging a priority while still not putting too much pressure on myself to blog. It’s a fine balance, but just keep it fun! 🙂

  2. Cynthia says:

    I completely agree! I have taken a weekend off from blogging before, where I didn’t read blogs or even respond to comments. And this past weekend, I did not read at ALL. That is so unusual for me but my brain just needed a break. 🙂

  3. Naomi says:

    I don’t feel guilty when I take a break, but sometimes I feel like I will get behind. I love reading other people’s blogs, and I hate to miss something I might like. As for taking reading breaks, I so rarely want one that it’s not usually a problem. 🙂 I would have to be REALLY tired or REALLY sick or REALLY busy not to read something before bed, which does happen sometimes, but not often.

  4. The Paperback Princess says:

    I’m with Naomi on this one – the fear that I will get behind is too real. And I read like I breathe so I have to basically be at death’s door for me not to read. But I think you’re right not to feel guilt about it. Blogging is supposed to be FUN. If it stops being fun, it’s lost its purpose.

  5. Sarah's Book Shelves says:

    Love this post 🙂 And I have blogger guilt sometimes too – my husband reminds me that “this is a hobby and I don’t have to post”. Of course, my blog is more than just a “hobby” to me – haha! But, I used to schedule posts in advance whenever I was going out of town for the weekend or longer and now I just take the breaks…I do read still, I just don’t worry about posting on the blog.

  6. Leah says:

    It’s so nice to take a break sometimes — and there’s no need to feel guilty about it. Blogging is a hobby, and nothing actually bad will happen if you take some time off. You have a great attitude!

  7. joyousreads says:

    Oh I agree. Though I feel like I’m not myself when I don’t read anything. A book is like a limb to me, now. I feel incomplete without it. However, I can easily forgive myself if take a break from time to time. Because there’ll always be days when I just don’t feel like reading. 🙂

Leave a Reply

