Monday Musings | Book Blogger Guilt

Remains Reread

(Excited about this beautiful book? Or hiding my face in shame? Maybe a bit of both.)

Hi friends! Happy Monday! I simultaneously can and cannot believe it’s been another week already. I think I’m still feeling the residual post-summer sadness/slump and so I haven’t been as motivated to read read read as I usually am (though I have been -slowly- reading some amazing books!). On top of this, I’m pretty busy at work these days as we’re gearing up for our annual sale. This means a lot of last-minute preparations and working longer hours. I hope I don’t sound like I’m complaining here because I love what I do and I am so appreciative of the things that I have learned; it’s just that I feel so tired after work that blogging is not always the easiest way to relax. For me, this slumpiness and blog-slackery has been leadingย me to something pretty unproductive: book blogger guilt.

Do you ever feel book blogger guilt? I have so many reviews to catch up on and so many post ideas waiting to be materialized that my procrastination while I’m at home makes me feel so guilty. I’ve seen a few release dates come and go and I still haven’t written my reviews for the books yet. Instead of picking myself up and writing these posts, I’ve been panicking about how I haven’t written the post. Thanks, brain! The worst part about this whole thing is that I do genuinely have things to say about these books… I just somehow can’t find the words and energy to do so. Everything has been leading to a feeling of general crappiness, making me feel unaccomplished and unmotivated.

So, here’s my question to you, fellow book bloggers: how do you do it all? Do you have a system where you write a post the moment you have an idea for it or do you set aside a time each week to do your writing? Do you ever feel guilty when you fall behind on blogging? How to you get yourself out of the slump?

So far the only solution I have is to learn to schedule posts in advance. This is going to be my new personal goal!

26 thoughts on “Monday Musings | Book Blogger Guilt

  1. Nish says:

    I set aside time during the weekends for blogging. I find blogging as such is ok, but finding time to catch up on Twitter, commenting on other blogs and such…that takes up more time.

  2. Lizzi says:

    I schedule posts in advance too, and make a note of any really important ones that I need to write. But, I don’t think any bloggers should feel guilty. You’re writing the blog for yourself and do it entirely on your own terms, so don’t bow to any outside pressure. If you’re in a ‘slump’ you need to find something that you really really want to write about – blogging should be fun and you should do it how you like!

  3. Amy Sachs says:

    I always love your Monday Musing topics every week! I usually just write posts whenever I have spare time. I tend to jot my ideas down in one of my many notebooks so I always have some idea circulating around. If I finish a book that a really love, I usually jump right into the review if I can, so the details and feelings are still fresh in my mind.

  4. Charleen says:

    When it comes to reviews, I always at least jot down my main points I want to make as soon as I’m done with the book, but I like to let it simmer for a day or two before actually writing the review. This is a problem because that almost always turns into frantically writing the review the day before it goes up. On the plus side, I read very few review copies, so I’m on no one’s schedule but my own… but that doesn’t mean I don’t have a schedule, and it still bugs me leaving things till the last minute. I’m going to try to get caught up during Bloggiesta and then do better about getting them done right away in the future.

    • kmn04books says:

      It looks like you had a productive bloggiesta! (Good job!) I think you’re right that having review copies adds to the stress a bit; that’s why I’ve stopped going on NetGalley even though it’s so tempting! I really envy those who have the discipline to schedule posts ๐Ÿ˜›

  5. Naomi says:

    Most of my blogging and reading of other blogs happens at naptime. Sometimes I get in a few other checks here and there, and I often go on for a bit at night after everyone’s in bed. But that’s supposed to be my main reading time, so I try to limit myself then. So, I try to do all my thinking away from the computer, jot things down in notebooks, then I’m ready when I have a chance to type. I also try to keep it simple. If I try to have too much going on with my blog, and too many other blogs to keep up with, I know I will feel behind and frustrated that I don’t have enough time. I also try to limit review books to 2 or 3 a month. The rest are just for me. Mostly, I just try to go with the flow. Usually right when I think I might never get anything done, I suddenly find myself with some extra time to catch up. It usually all evens out in the end! Sending un-slumpish wishes your way!

    • kmn04books says:

      Thank you, Naomi! I agree that less is sometimes more. I’ve found that a bit with all the social media that I do – it’s so hard to keep track and update EVERYTHING frequently (and well)! It can get pretty overwhelming sometimes. Going with the flow sounds like the best course to take!

  6. friendlybookworm says:

    I definitely feel it! Almost all the time! I was away on vacation all week so that allowed me to read a couple books which was nice, but I was thinking the entire that I need to read faster to get through more of it :S Also, some weeks are just so busy the quality of the posts lacks or I just don’t post that much. I think it’s really normal, especially if blogging isn’t your full time job!

    Also, I feel like I have all these great ideas about the book when I am reading it, at certain passages but if I don’t mark them down then I forget when I actually write the review! Please tell me it’s not just me!

    • kmn04books says:

      I so hear you with the busy non-blog life! Sometimes I wish I could blog full time… it sounds like fun ๐Ÿ˜› Haha and you’re totally not alone with the note-taking thing! I always write notes as I read or else I forget important things…

  7. Leah says:

    I do the exact same thing, Karen. Right now, I have 9 books that I’ve read but haven’t reviewed — 4 books I purchased, 4 whose release dates have already passed, and 1 that’s not out yet. I can’t bring myself to blog after a 10-hour day at work, so I try to get everything done on the weekends — but I usually would rather spend my free time reading than writing! Instead of doing something to reduce my stress about being behind, I just make it worse by procrastinating even more. It’s a terrible cycle.

    • kmn04books says:

      That’s exactly it!! Long days at work mean I just want to veg out at home. Even though I know blogging and talking to bookish friends gives me a lot of pleasure sometimes i feel like after a long day I just don’t have the mental capacity for it. Siiiigh. I think just training ourselves to not stress about it is the best route!

  8. ebookclassics says:

    I feel your pain! I don’t have blogger guilt per se, but I get anxious when things start to pile up. No matter how organized I try to be, I have no real system for any of my posts or reviews. Which reminds me that I need to update my review archive … SO behind.

    • kmn04books says:

      Haha. Yes, sometimes I find myself slacking with my review archive too! I kind of have a structure to my posts but I’ve become more and more flexible with it as the months go on…

  9. M | BACKLIST BOOKS says:

    I know exactly what you mean. I’ve got a book I received to review AGES ago (seriously, I can’t even remember when) that I haven’t gotten to. I want to read it, but whenever I crack it open, it fails to hold my attention. Which I think is mostly to do with my mindset that I HAVE to read it. Ugh. I’ve always had this problem. I think part of it is the fact that reading is what I do for fun. So keeping to a reading (and then blogging) schedule is hard. I want to be free to mood read, to abandon a book if I’m not feeling it. Nothing will destroy my enjoyment of a book as effectively as making me feel like I have to read it.

    As weird as it sounds, I dealt with this by deciding not to pursue review copies of books. I find the pressure of meeting deadlines and knowing I have to read all those books takes the fun out of it for me. I’d rather pay for my books and be able to read on my own terms. Of course, this won’t work for everyone. I know a lot of bloggers can’t afford to buy all the books they want to read. Others read so quickly that they’re able to polish off a stack of books every week. Still others are fine with a schedule and don’t need the freedom to hop around as I do – and there is a lot of value in reviewing books before or right when they come out in terms of # of readers. So it’s not a solution for everyone. But I found that for me this keeps blogging from feeling like homework, and I’m willing to make the trade off.

    I’ve also discovered that the best thing for me is to write book reviews pretty much right away when I finish them, but to schedule them to publish at a later date. This way I get my thoughts down while they’re fresh, I always have three or four written reviews waiting to be published, and I have the option to go back in and edit if anything new occurs to me over the few weeks following the initial review. I try to write a week or so ahead for link-ups and any other posts I’ve got planned as well, but often end up doing them the day of. Something to work on, I guess!

    • kmn04books says:

      Haha yes! As you know, I always abandon (or put on hold) books that aren’t catching my interests ๐Ÿ˜› Luckily for me I always promised myself that I wouldn’t accept review copies of books I don’t genuinely want to read, so sometimes it’s not even that I don’t want to read a book… it’s just that I don’t want to read (or write) anything in general. Yikes. I think your system of writing a review right after you finish a book sounds great! You sound so much more organized (and diligent) than me! I should definitely take a page out of your book – figuratively, of course ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. DoingDewey says:

    I’ve been trying to do all of my blogging on the weekends. After work during the week, I just have a hard time giving up part of my evening to blog! I do read and comment on other blogs during the week though because to me, that’s more relaxing and feels like less of a commitment ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

