February 2015

February 2015 One More Page Reading Wrap Up

Books read:

*Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery
*A Robot in the Garden by Deborah Install
*Boo by Neil Smith
*The Half Brother by Holly LeCraw
*Hausfrau by Jill Alexander Essbaum
*Single, Carefree, Mellow by Katherine Heiny
*We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Man, did February fly by or what? I can’t believe it’s already March. (I also can’t believe how cold it still is in Toronto! There are flurries coming down as I type this. Brrr.)

I had a great month. From attending the Random House Canada Blogger Preview to celebrating my first blogiversary, it was filled with bookish fun and excitement! Plus, I read some pretty incredible books. Anne of Green Gables is always a fun book to revisit; A Robot in the Garden will have everyone falling in love when it comes out; Boo took me on a roller coaster ride of emotions; The Half Brother had a great setup even though I was disappointed with its resolution; Hausfrau touched on everything that interests me as a reader; Single, Carefree, Mellow reminded me that I do like short stories when done a certain way; We Should All Be Feminists was a powerful read that should be passed on to everyone you know.

Right now I’m reading Kevin Kwan’s China Rich Girlfriend, his follow up to Crazy Rich Asians, as well as finishing up Kazuo Ishiguro’s newest novel The Buried Giant. They are very different books but have their merits all the same!

What are you reading right now? How was your February?

14 thoughts on “February 2015

  1. Naomi says:

    A Robot in the Garden and Boo are books I haven’t heard of – I’m looking forward to hearing more about them!
    I just finished Hausfrau tonight. Right now, I’m thinking it’s going to be a tough book to write about. I might have to let it simmer for a bit. What did you think?

    • Denise says:

      I just saw Hausfrau pop up on my Twitter feed, Naomi – is it the new Miniaturist. I’m not sure that is a good thing, but the blurb looked good. Tough to write about in a good or a bad way?

  2. Cynthia says:

    Looks like you have had a great month! I am reading I know why the caged bird sings by Maya Angelou for the first time. I am really enjoying it.

  3. Denise says:

    Oh, I like that expression – short stories when done a certain way. I am struggling through a collection at the moment, which I would describe as cold :-/

Leave a Reply

