How to Read Away The Winter Blues

Read Away Winter Blues One More Page

Maybe it’s because Daylight Savings Time officially ended a few weekends ago or maybe because it’s getting colder and we’re outside less, but it feels like there’s been a noticeably “bluer” atmosphere around lately. I definitely feel this way myself; I feel like I’ve been more affected by small things recently, and I’m feeling more introspective and melancholy because of it. (It doesn’t help that work has been extra busy lately, but that’s another post for another time.) So while small doses of introspection are always welcome, I would prefer to be my bright, energetic, summer self more often.

Being a bookworm, I decided the best way to get over this is to read my way out of this late fall/early winter funk! How do I think I’ll read away my winter blues? Let me tell you…

Read something funny.

What better way to instantly feel better than to tickle your funny bone and actually laugh out loud? I’m a huge fan of humorous books all year, but especially in the winter. Some hilarious, feel-good books I’d recommend:

Travel through the pages.

The colder weather always has me yearning for the sun’s warm rays or a change of scenery. Because my wanderlust is usually stronger in the winter, the next best thing to actually going on vacation is to read about foreign places. Some adventures I’ve recently been on:

Cry it out.

Sometimes you just need a good cry. I’m sure there’s a scientific explanation for why crying feels so damn wonderful when you’re feeling down, but since I am not scientifically inclined, you’ll just have to believe me. I’ve already wrote a full post about books that make me cry, but I love them so much that I had to restate it here. (What was the most recent book that made you cry?)

Visit old friends.

This works in “real life” too! Sometimes a good hangout with my best friends really helps boost my mood. But if they don’t live close to you or you don’t really feel like being with humans, re-visiting friendly book characters work as well! Some friends I’ve been meaning to catch up with:

  • Anne from Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery
  • Bruno and Boots from This Can’t Be Happening at Macdonald Hall by Gordon Korman
  • Any character from Susin Nielsen’s wonderful books.

Do you have any sure-fire ways to cheer yourself up? Are there any books that will always bring you out of a funk? Do you have any suggestions for me?

20 thoughts on “How to Read Away The Winter Blues

  1. The Paperback Princess says:

    I don’t get melancholy in the winter! I love the cooler temperatures, the rain (not so much snow on the West coast as you know), the dark. I find it soothing. But the change in weather definitely has an impact on my reading. I also like to visit with old book friends – I need to replace my Anne of Green Gables books that got lost and no joke I contemplated which version to go with for like 10 minutes in the bookstore. And left with none of them. I can’t decide.
    I also love to read serious literature and non-fiction in the winter. Turbulent times, incredible lives, ahead of the curve personalities – something about the dark outside that makes me want to read these. And War and Peace is basically on my list every winter. I almost made it once.

    • kmn04books says:

      I think I have a love/hate relationship with winter! On one hand, I get SO excited about the holidays; on the other, it makes me more melancholy than usual!

      There are SO many beautiful Anne covers so I understand your struggle! (I have never even attempted War & Peace…)

      • The Paperback Princess says:

        When I finally read it, I’ll let you know if you should bother!

        I’m super fair so I spend a lot of time in the summer months trying to avoid the sun. And then you get shamed for not being outside “enjoying” the sun. So I prefer the colder months because everyone just leaves me alone.

        And crappy weather is just better for cozy reading days.

  2. Naomi says:

    I don’t mind the winter. Yes, I eventually get tired of the snow and slush, the white and grey, having to bundle up to go outside twenty times a day, shoveling the driveway, and the freezing cold floor in the morning. But, in the summer, I get tired of the heat and humidity, having to have multiple showers a day when it’s humid and sticky, strategizing about how to stay out of the sun so I don’t have to put sunscreen on all the time. The good thing about getting tired of one season is that we get to look forward to the next! However, my husband is prone to getting the winter blues and so do many other people I know. All your suggestions for reading away the winter blues sound good to me anytime! 🙂 I hope they work for you! My husband isn’t much of a reader, so he just tries to keep busy. I really would like to re-read Anne. Emily, too.

  3. My Book Strings says:

    I don’t mind the winter either, but I always look for “old friends” around Christmastime. I have a list of feel-good books that I pull out every December. And yes, some of those are books that make me cry every time I read them. 🙂

  4. marieren says:

    I absolutely love Anne of Green Gables. I think that the bad weather calls for “comfort reading,” the same way it calls for “comfort food” sometimes. If you’re into the style/pacing of Anne of Green Gables, I’d suggest giving anything by James Herriot a try. I don’t know why the two series go hand-in-hand for me–maybe it’s the voice or the gentle humor that makes me associate the one with the other. But, for me at least, James Herriot and L.M. Montgomery make for the best comfort reading 🙂

  5. Angélique says:

    Tell me about it! I’m really sensitive to winter blues and in my case it’s obviously due to the lack of light/sun. Even a cloudy day can get me moody… so sunset at 4.30pm? ugh…
    I love the idea to read the winter blues away! It would certainly help focus on something else. I started a Sci-Fi & Fantasy World Tour in books a few month ago and I finally got the next books: “The Three-Body Problem” (China) and “Dictionary of the Khazars” (Serbia). Travelling, even by mean of books, is quite helpful! Maybe you could try this too: some books from some sunny places!

    • kmn04books says:

      Me too! Today has been so overcast in Toronto that I’ve just stayed inside and cleaned all day… Your suggestion sounds great! I’ve been reading some holiday stories lately but I definitely want to read more “summer books.”

  6. Amy Sachs says:

    I love really long books in the winter, for some reason. Like getting lost in a book while the snow falls outside is always my favorite thing. Last winter I read The Goldfinch, and this winter I hope to conquer The Luminaries! Although if you’re looking for funny and uplifting for the winter, Yes Please would be a great one too!

  7. jjoongie says:

    i must admit i LOVE winter! 😀 i love the cold and the snow (sigh, still waiting for snow in nyc!), and i’m totally opposite — i need things to chase away the summer rage. >:3

    have you read the “emily of new moon” trilogy from l.m. montgomery? i was introduced to them through the anne books, and i love the emily books just as much. i also really love “howl’s moving castle” by diana wynne jones. also “charmed life” and “the lives of christopher chant” and “conrad’s fate.” those are fun, comfort reading! 😀

    (the last book that made me cry was “a tale for the time being.” it was soooo good! i loved all the enthusiasm on instagram — it made me want to read faster!)

    • kmn04books says:

      I actually haven’t read Emily of New Moon but I feel like I should! I’m sooooo happy to hear that you loved A Tale for the Time Being. As you know, I adored that book!

Leave a Reply

