Book Review | Shopaholic to the Stars by Sophie Kinsella

Sophie Kinsella Shopaholic To The Stars Book Review Book Cover

[I received a copy of this book from its Canadian publisher Random House Canada. This does not affect my opinion of the novel.]

Becky Brandon (née Bloomwood) is back!

Friends, I can’t tell you how excited I was when I heard there was a new Shopaholic book coming out. I’ve finally ditched my old ways of hiding my guilty pleasures, so I’ll even tell you that I squealed when I saw an advanced copy of the book had been mailed to me. (Thank you so, so much, Random House Canada!) For me, the Shopaholic books have always been a source of guaranteed happiness where I know I will laugh, I’ll cringe, and sometimes even cry (and we all know I love doing that). The Shopaholic series is one of my go-to series when I’m having a bad day, and I’m so happy to say that Shopaholic to the Stars lived up to my high expectations.

Here’s a Goodreads description of the book:

Becky Brandon (née Bloomwood) has stars in her eyes. She and her daughter, Minnie, have joined husband Luke in LA—city of herbal smoothies, multimillion-dollar yoga retreats, and the lure of celebrity. Luke is there to help manage the career of famous actress Sage Seymour—and Becky is convinced she is destined to be Sage’s personal stylist, and go from there to every A-list celebrity in Hollywood! But things become complicated when Becky joins the team of Sage’s archrival. How will charming and supportive Luke deal with this conflict? Is it possible that what Becky wants most will end up hurting those she loves most? Shopaholic fans old and new will devour Sophie Kinsella’s newest adventure!

I think Kinsella’s choice in bringing Becky across the pond was a GREAT idea. It added a freshness to the series and made for a lot of hilarious and sticky situations for Becky to find herself in. There were many spots in the book that made me laugh out loud (in public, no less) but the part that made me giggle the most was when Becky took Minnie to her first day at preschool and tried to adapt to the LA parenting style by shadowing her, encouraging her and “seeing the world at her level”. Minnie did not want to sit still, which meant that Becky had to be pretty creative in her reassuring statements. It’s one of the funniest things I’ve read in a long time.

Shopaholic to the Stars isn’t just funny though. There are also some very cringe-worthy moments and times where I wish I could steer Becky into a different direction. Things just kept getting more and more out of control! If you’re looking for a book with a lot of action and humour, look no further.

The one thing that I didn’t like as much about the book was the fact that it ended on a cliffhanger. It was great in one sense because it meant that there will definitely be another book, but on the other hand I am so impatient that I would rather have my books tied up by the end.

Verdict: A really funny, quintessentially Shopaholic book. Even though the book isn’t always the most realistic, it is definitely reliably interesting and entertaining. That’s what I look for in a good light read!

Read if: You’ve loved the previous Shopaholic books, want a fun read that is both dramatic and hilarious, or are curious to see if the Shopaholic is still such a big spender.

Are you a Shopaholic and Sophie Kinsella fan? Do you think moving Becky to LA was a good idea? Will you read the next installment in the series?

7 thoughts on “Book Review | Shopaholic to the Stars by Sophie Kinsella

  1. Naomi says:

    So glad to hear that it lived up to your expectations. Sometimes these things can be disappointing. I will definitely keep this one in mind when I’m looking for a laugh. I’m curious now about the preschool scene!

  2. ebookclassics says:

    I haven’t read any of the Shopaholic books, but I loved the movie and always wondered if I should give them a try. Hmm, I wonder why they haven’t made any other Shopaholic movies …

Leave a Reply

