Monday Musings | Mirrored Reading (aka Mood Reading)

747a4-boysnowbirdcoverhelenoyeyemikmn04books

Hi everyone! How’s your Monday going? I had a very typical case of the Mondays today and even though it’s only 8:35 pm I feel like I’m ready to curl up in bed and read. But, as I was about to crawl into bed, I realized I didn’t want to read the book that I have on-the-go. (Speaking of which, I really have to update my “Currently reading” section.) I’m not normally a mood reader, so this realization took me by surprise.

This got me thinking: do you read to match your mood, or go the complete opposite route? When it comes to music I find misery loves company, and I love listening to sad, almost whiny music. But as I find myself feeling “blah,” I’m leaning more towards a humorous read or even some non-fiction. I went to the bookstore today after work (how else does a bookworm pick herself up after a long day?) and picked up this month’s issue of Quill and Quire magazine as well as Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s We Should All Be Feminists. I think those are going to be great companions for tonight. If I was in the mood to start a longer novel though, I think I’d probably follow my own advice and pick up something that could help me read away my (winter) blues.

Are you a mood reader? Do you like reading sad books when you’re feeling down, or do you try to cheer yourself up by reading something lighter?

8 thoughts on “Monday Musings | Mirrored Reading (aka Mood Reading)

  1. jjoongie says:

    i was all set to be like, “i’m a TOTAL mood reader,” but then i had to pause and rethink that. i think i AM a mood reader, but not in the sense that i like reading sad books when i’m down or happy books when i’m happy. it’s more in the sense of having to be “in the mood” for a particular book? in a way that’s not linked to how i’m feeling. i don’t know quite how to describe it, except that i think that sometimes we’re more primed to “receive” certain books at specific points in our lives.

    … does that even make sense … -___-

    i do find that writing sometimes makes me seek out specific kinds of books, particularly when it comes to tone. like, for instance, if i’m working on a story that has a melancholic or heavy tone, then i’ll look for something like “never let me go,” or, if i’m writing about loss or grief, i’ll look for something like “the history of love.”

    lol, so long answer short, i am a total mood reader after all …

  2. Naomi says:

    I am definitely a mood reader, but only in the same way as the commenter above. I read what I am in the mood for, but it does not necessarily match my mood.?? I often have to switch books when I realize I am not in the mood for the one I picked out. This can sometimes be a problem when it comes to library books. When they come in, I’m not always in the mood for them like I was when I requested them. But, usually I have enough to choose from that it works out okay. 🙂

  3. River City Reading says:

    Like the other comments, I’m a mood reader who reads what strikes me…though there are a few books I look to in certain moods. I constantly return to Cheryl Strayed’s Tiny Beautiful Things when I need to refocus or a general pick-me-up, so that’s very much a specific mood book 😉

  4. The Paperback Princess says:

    hahaha I think we’re all on the same page today! Mood reader for sure, but not in the “misery loves company” kind of way.I do tend to be like that with music but if I’m in a bad mood, I can’t be reading something dark. Sometimes you’re in the mood for non-fiction and sometimes you need a story. I think I turn to “sure thing” reads when I’m down, books that I know I will love. Often this means re-reading a classic (Jane Austen) or turning to those that have never let me down (Maeve Binchy, Agatha Christie). Hope your reading material busted your funk!

  5. Leah says:

    I’m not much of a mood reader because a mood only lasts a few hours (usually), but it takes me a few days to read a book. That said, I can’t tell you how many times I’ve read just the first few chapters of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone when I need something comforting.

Leave a Reply

