10 Reasons to Watch The Maze Runner Movie This Weekend

The Maze Runner by James Dashner Movie Poster

 Photo credit: hcmoviereviews

Last Wednesday I was lucky enough to be invited by Random House Canada to see an advanced screening of The Maze Runner, a science fiction action thriller film that is based on the first novel of the Maze Runner series by James Dashner. I was so excited to be invited because although I hadn’t read the book, I had seen the trailer and I was definitely intrigued. I’m happy to report that the movie totally exceeded my expectations! So, instead of a regular movie review, I thought I would present you a list of reasons why you should go see The Maze Runner in theatres this weekend. (Really, who can resist a good list?)

1. THIS TRAILER

When I saw this trailer for the first time, I immediately made a mental note to check out the movie when it came out. That last bit where Thomas runs into the maze as the walls are closing in? Chills.

2. You’ve read and loved the series

Because what’s better than seeing a book come alive on screen?

3. You can’t get enough of young adult movie adaptations

It seems like movie adaptations of young adult books have become quite the trend but I’m definitely not complaining! Because of this trend I’ve discovered so many books that I might not have found out about otherwise – The Maze Runner trilogy is one of them!

4. On that note, part 1 of Mockingjay doesn’t come out till November 21st so you just HAVE to see something to tide you over until then

I think this is self-explanatory. The excitement knows no bounds!!

5. Jojen from Game of Thrones is in it

Jojen Game of Thrones Newt The Maze Runner

Photo credit: Vulture

You may know him as Jojen Reed from Game of Thrones. In The Maze Runner, he plays a really sweet character named Newt. As a Game of Thrones fan, I was thrilled to see him on the big screen! (A quick wikipedia search tells me that he’s actually been in a lot of films, so I might have to take a day and watch some of them…)

6. The action and suspense

Since I hadn’t read any of the books, I went into the movie theatre with almost no idea of what was about to happen. As a result, I was totally unprepared for all of the tense situations and thrilling action! I was glued to the edge of my seat the whole time and by the time I walked out of the theatre, I had no nails left. Just thinking about it makes me want to see the movie again. It was so. good.

7. The acting

The action and suspense would not have been so effective had it not been the strength of the cast. Considering the relative youth of the cast, I was surprised to see that there were absolutely no weak actors in this film. I bought everyone’s characters completely and it made me get into the story so much more.

8. The maze

The Maze Runner Maze

Photo credit: timsfilmreviews.com

Just look at that maze. It’s so intricate and elaborate and so fascinating to see on screen. The fact that it rearranges itself every day makes it even scarier. I would NOT want to be in the Glade!

9. The discussion you can have about it afterwards

One of my favourite parts about going to a movie is the discussion you can have about it afterwards. My boyfriend and I talked about what we just saw all the way home, from why we thought there were mostly only guys in the Glade, how we felt about the various twists and turns, and how claustrophobic the film made us feel (in the best possible way). I can’t wait to talk to you all about it when I’ve convinced you to go see it! 😉

10. Because, if you haven’t read the books (like me), it will absolutely make you want to pick up the books and read them!

I am the most impatient person in the world. That’s what made me read Mockingjay and that’s why I immediately bought the whole Maze Runner series after I left the theatre. I JUST NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT! So, if you’re wondering whether you should read the Maze Runner trilogy, seeing the movie might help you decide. I can’t wait till my order arrives so I can get reading!

So there you have it: my top 10 reasons to go see The Maze Runner this weekend (or in theatres, generally). Thank you again to Random House Canada for inviting me to the advanced screening; I had an a-maze-ing time 😉

Have you read the Maze Runner trilogy? Will you be seeing the movie in theatres?

19 thoughts on “10 Reasons to Watch The Maze Runner Movie This Weekend

  1. citygirlscapes says:

    I really, really want to see this movie. But first I really, really want to read the book! I’m happy to hear the movie was good though! Now I’m even more excited.
    – ashley

  2. Lily says:

    My friend made me read this trilogy last semester, and I both hate and love her for it. Oh man, the feels these books give! I can’t wait to see the movie! I’m sure it’ll be amazing!

Leave a comment