Monday Musings | Blog Origins

Karen from One More Page kmn04books

Whenever I tell people that I want to work in publishing one of the first questions that usually follows is “Are you a writer?” and my inclination is to always respond with “No.”

It’s true. I’ve tried multiple times and failed at fiction writing. I over-think things and over-analyze situations and don’t do a very good job at world building. No, I’ve always confidently answered that I’m not a writer. However, as I geared up to answer this question again this past week, something made me change my response. Instead of plain saying I wasn’t a writer, I modified it and admitted that I wasn’t a fiction writer. Because, when I think about it, I’ve been writing all my life.

I started my first ever blog in grade 6. Back in the day Xanga was a huge blogging platform (where I lived, at least). My blog consisted of silly things and personal updates. I posted almost every single day. It felt normal and natural because I’ve always felt compelled to diary and journal and the fact that almost all of my classmates were also writing personal blogs didn’t hurt. Those were the first days where I realized how the simple act of writing, for me, could form a community.

Since then I’ve written countless other (semi-private) blogs. I had a 365 day photography blog. I had a health blog (that lasted around 2 months…). I have had personal blogs on and off since my first one in grade 6. So, when I think about how I arrived at this blog here, I guess I should have seen it coming. When someone loves to jot down their opinions and feelings as much as I do and love to read as much as I do, it’s probably only natural that blogging or writing about it comes next. I think these are the real, deep-down reasons for why I have this blog and it’s something I really haven’t realized until now. I most definitely am not a fiction writer, but the need to write has constantly been with me and I can now confidently acknowledge and say “I’m a blogger because I’m a writer” (and thinker and dreamer and lover of words…).

Anyway, the reason for my long story is so I can ask YOU – Do you identify as a writer? Have you always been this way? What made you start your blog (whether it be about books or not)?

21 thoughts on “Monday Musings | Blog Origins

  1. Naomi says:

    I know that I am absolutely not a writer. I used to try keeping a journal or diary, and I couldn’t even do that. The reason I started my blog was just so that I could share my thoughts about the books I read. I was reading a lot of good books and feeling frustrated that I had no one to talk to about them (most of the time). Sometimes my mom and I would talk books, or my friend and I, but it was always very general, because we were rarely reading the same books at the same time. So, for me, it was that simple. I have gotten everything I wanted and more out of my book blog. I hope it’s the same for you!

  2. Kathleen says:

    I am a far cry from being a writer. I thought of doing either a personal blog (which would mainly consists of photos) or a book blog. I figured since I own more books than I do a good camera, I settled on a book blog. 🙂

    • kmn04books says:

      That makes a lot of sense! When I was still running my photography blog I definitely felt the pressure of needing a better camera. With book blogging you really don’t have that problem at all! 🙂

  3. Nish says:

    That’s a nice way of thinking of it. Yeah, I have always been writing something or the other, and my blog is just a public manifestation of that. Just because I don’t write books (although I do write books, technical ones) doesn’t mean I don’t write.

  4. A says:

    I think of myself as a blogger, I don’t have the training (or talent) to write fiction or non-fcition, and I think my style of writing doesn’t fit in to journalistic conventions. I have blogged for years on all sorts of platforms and self-hosting. I don’t remember why I started personal blogging all those years ago, probably just for the fun and novelty of it. It was very new and different back then, anyone who admitted to blogging would have been a social pariah. But, I started ofBooks specifically to chat about books, no one around me really read as much as I did and I wanted to connect with more people in a similar position.

    • kmn04books says:

      I think the desire to discuss books is a common one for most book bloggers! That was definitely a motivation behind starting mine as well. I don’t have a journalism background either, but somehow I feel like I can unofficially call myself a writer. 😛

  5. marieren says:

    I try to be. I want to be. I don’t know. But I think what you wrote here is so beautifully put–I wonder why our gut instinct is to think that some types of writing, like fiction, are more “writerly” than others?

    • kmn04books says:

      I think as long as you want to be a writer and try to be a writer (by writing) then you already are one. There’s no exclusive club and you don’t have to be published to be a writer, in my opinion! 🙂 (I wonder about that too!)

  6. Leah says:

    Hmm, I don’t call myself a writer. I like writing, and it’s something I’ve always thought I’m okay at doing, but I don’t think I have the creative abilities and drive to really identify as a writer. You bring up interesting questions, though!

    • kmn04books says:

      I definitely feel like I’m not creative enough to be a fiction writer, but if I have the drive to blog and write… does that make me a writer? I guess it all depends on how we’re defining “writer” 🙂

  7. jjoongie says:

    Omg xanga! Wow that takes me back … haha I feel old!!! (This actually made me go log into my old account on Xanga and download my archives and revisit my late adolescent years … woooow, some trips down memory lane need not necessarily be pursued …)

    I do definitely consider myself a writer, but it took me years to be able to say that, even though I’ve always written fiction and have always dreamed (in very fuzzy, abstract ways) of being published. It’s weird, sometimes, the things that we’re made to feel uncertain of, because I could never say “I’m a writer” before because I didn’t think I “qualified” to be a writer because, for me, writing was just fun. Lol the funny thing is that, now, I have much more hesitation saying I’m a book blogger because I don’t feel like I “qualify” as a book blogger! Like, I don’t write often enough about books with enough depth/insight, so I can’t call myself one!

    Love these Monday musings! And that photo you used for this post — it’s adorable. (:

  8. Words for Worms says:

    I don’t identify as a writer, which is kind of weird since I spend most of my time putting words together. I tend to think of myself as an overenthusiastic reader using the internet as a release valve for the crazy.

  9. Charleen says:

    I’ve totally given up on being a fiction writer, but it took me a long time to come to terms with the fact that I am still a writer… even if not the kind I always thought of when I heard that word.

  10. aryathefangirl says:

    I’ve always thought I was a writer. I have never wanted to honestly get published before though and that was always what I figured a writer was. I love to write make stories or share my opinion. I took a webpage design class in high school and a year long project for us was to create and maintain a website(blog). I really enjoyed doing that so I decided to create one of my own. I love creating things and writing so it is a lot of fun to combine two things I love together.

  11. Nuzaifa @ Say It With Books says:

    Recently, I read this blog post about identity and your post echoes how the blogger felt.

    Honestly, I think we all need to overcome our reservations and acknowledge our talents. We string words together, we create, we take pictures, we publish posts and we market our posts. So yes, we are writers, creators, photographers, bloggers and just plain awesome people. 😉

    Thank you for the lovely post! 🙂

  12. Jackie G. says:

    I’ve never considered myself a writer, but you do make a valid point. I’m a blogger…so I guess I am actually a writer. And if that’s the case, I’ve been a writer for a long time. I started blogging back in sixth grade too and that’s like…oh gosh…like FIFTEEN years ago. I starting out with personal blogs on deadjournal (because livejournal required a friend to invite you) and then I graduated to a blog that was hosted by one of my online buddies. That was kind of a big deal back in the early 2000s– being hosted by a friend. Nowadays…I’m all about books 🙂 It’s been an interesting journey.

Leave a Reply

