Wishlist Wednesday | Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham

Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham Book Cover

Source: Goodreads

[Wishlist Wednesday is a book blog hop hosted by Pen to Paper]

I’m not normally a huge memoir/autobiography reader, but after reading and loving Elaine Lui (Lainey Gossip)’s Listen to the Squawking Chicken, I’m looking forward to reading my next one! When I heard Lena Dunham was writing a book, I was instantly sold. I’m a huge fan of her HBO show Girls and have high hopes for Not That Kind of Girl.

Of the book, Dunham says, “If I can take what I’ve learned in this life and make one treacherous relationship or degrading job easier for you, perhaps even prevent you from becoming temporarily vegan, then every misstep of mine will have been worthwhile. This book contains stories about wonderful nights with terrible boys and terrible days with wonderful friends, about ambition and the two existential crises I had before the age of twenty. About fashion and its many discontents. ” (from the book’s Goodreads page)

Needless to say, I can’t wait to read this book. I think it will be full of Dunham’s trademark humour and wit. And if her work on Girls is any indication, Not That Kind of Girl is going to be insightful, hilarious, and relatable.

Are you as excited for Not That Kind of Girl as I am? Are you a fan of Girls? Did you add anything new to your wishlist this week?

8 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday | Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham

  1. M. says:

    I already pre-ordered this one, mostly based on that “temporarily vegan” line. I’m not a huge fan of Girls – I think because I’m in my 30s now and I don’t connect to it as strongly. But from what I’ve seen and heard of Dunham, I’m willing to give her written work a shot! Looking forward to hearing what you think once you get your eager little hands on it!

    • kmn04books says:

      I know that a lot of people (even those my age) that can’t handle the characters’ selfishness so I understand when people can’t connect/are not a fan of the show. I’m glad that you’re giving her book a shot though because from what I can tell she’s a hilarious writer with a lot of good stories to tell! (I’m soooooooo excited about this book, you don’t even know.)

      • M. says:

        Hmmm. Yeah, I guess that’s part of it. But I think more than that it was the self-conscious awkwardness that made it hard to watch. I mean, awkwardness is a huge part of being that age, but it’s the part you try to get past and forget as quickly as possible. Not the part you really want to wallow in watching, if you know what I mean. And some of the characters were just a bit too much of… whatever they were. Too arrogant, too jerky, too ditzy. It made me want to take each and every one of them aside, give them a good shake, and tell them to get over themselves. I think I lasted about three episodes. That said, though, I think there’s a real voice in there somewhere, behind the awkwardness. And I definitely want to see what Lena does as she gains experience – I think whatever it is, it’ll be smart and unique. Hopefully this book will be the first step!

      • kmn04books says:

        That’s very fair. That self-conscious awkwardness is actually a big part of why I love the show (maybe because I’m at that stage of life…). I can definitely see how that can get to be too much though. Plus when they were all going through their tough phases it got pretty difficult to watch – you want them to get it together SO badly. I can’t wait to hear what you think of the book! It’ll be interesting to see it from a not-a-fan-of-Girls point of view.

  2. The Paperback Princess says:

    I love Girls so much. I think Lena Dunham is just the best and so what we all needed. I can’t wait to read this one either! There are SO MANY fantastic bios and memoirs out there – you should try some more!

      • The Paperback Princess says:

        OH MAN! How much time do you have!?

        It really depends on what you like. I suspect you would like The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls because a) everyone loves it and b) it’s a parent-child style memoir. I am also a SUCKER for bios of royal women or movie stars. The Elizabeth Taylor bio by J. Randy Tarraborrelli is amazing. And I adored The Five Granddaughters of Queen Victoria by Julia P. Gelardi. If you wanted something closer to home (Canada!), Mary Rubio’s biography of LM Montgomery is amazing.

      • kmn04books says:

        Oooh, I LOVED Anne of Green Gables so maybe I should give Mary Rubio’s biography of LM Montgomery a try! It would be interesting to learn more about her and what inspired such a widely loved Canadian novel/series! Thanks for the recs!

Leave a Reply

