February 2014

Books bought:
*A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki
*Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer
*The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
*Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood
*The Year of the Flood by Margaret Atwood
*Hey Nostradamus! by Douglas Coupland
*Birth House by Ami McKay
*One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey
*The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne
*Native Son by Richard Wright

Books won:
*The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion
*Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter

Books read:
*A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki
*The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
*Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer
*The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne
*The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

Another month, another summary post! Probably one of the most exciting things that happened to me this month was winning HarperCollins Canada’s Valentine’s Day Book Battle on Facebook. First of all, I never win anything so it was a thrill to be chosen. Secondly, I never really buy what’s normally categorized as “Chick Lit” (although I really despise that term) so it was great to receive these bestsellers! I was especially excited about The Rosie Project because it seemed like that book was everywhere – in bookstores, talked about on blogs and Twitter, and I even saw a few people reading it on the subway! How did I like it? Keep your eyes peeled for the review to come ๐Ÿ˜‰

This month my book purchases had a Canadian theme. I didn’t really mean for that to happen but after reading The Handmaid’s Tale I felt inspired to read more Canadian literature. I already knew that I would love A Tale for the Time Being due to its subject matter and from my experience reading Ozeki’s My Year of Meatsย in university. My Year of Meats was such an enthralling book that I kept bumping into people as I read and walked from class to class!ย I used to think Canadian literature was all about prairie life and landscapes but I’m so glad that misconception has been cleared. I think that Canadian authors have a lot to offer and I am looking forward to reading more from them. I am especially excited about reading The Birth House by Ami McKay as it was highly recommended to me by a close friend whose opinions have always been in line with mine.

My goal is to write a review or at least a quick summary of all the books I read throughout the year, so check back often for new content! I am going to go finish my review for The Handmaid’s Tale after I submit this post and I can’t wait to share my thoughts.

Have you read any of the books that I read this month? Do you have any book suggestions for me? I would love to hear from you!

3 thoughts on “February 2014

  1. yeji says:

    I am reminding you of the fact that you once won a carton of eggs! ๐Ÿ™‚ Love your new blog, I might try the canadian novels you recommended when done with my midterms.

    • kmn04books says:

      Yeji! Nice to see you ๐Ÿ™‚ Haha I almost forgot about the carton of eggs. Thanks for reminding me ๐Ÿ˜‰
      You should definitely check out the Canadian novels! Have you read The Handmaid’s Tale before? Eden was the one who recommended The Birth House for me, so you should check that out too!
      Hope you’re doing well, miss you tons! xoxo

Leave a Reply

