Daydreams of Bookworms

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

I’ve always been a little prone to daydreaming during my down time. Nothing is more therapeutic than sitting on the couch, staring at my bookshelves, and imagining fun things. As a reader, I find that a lot of my daydreams have to do with books. (In fact, I came up with the idea of writing this post when daydreaming about bookish situations on the subway…) So, I thought I’d share some of my bookish daydreams — I’m sure I’m not alone.

1. Running into an author on the subway… while reading their book.

As I mentioned above, this thought came to me while I was on the subway. I was minding my own business when a Margaret Atwood lookalike stepped into my train! My heart got that brief panicky feeling until I realized it wasn’t actually her. (Does Margaret Atwood take public transit?) I then proceeded to daydream about meeting an author on transit while coincidentally holding their book. That would be SO COOL.

2. Being able to work with books all day.

Growing up, I didn’t really know what I wanted to do when I was older. When I got to university, I quickly realized that I didn’t want to study anything but English. (I compromised and minored in Economics.) Then, when it came to really thinking about a career, I didn’t see anything but books in my future. How would I ever get bored while working with books?

3. Having unlimited books a my disposal and having unlimited shelf space to keep them.

It’s the ultimate bookworm struggle: wanting more books while simultaneously running out of bookshelf space! So, until I move into a place where I can house my own personal library, having all the books and all the bookshelves will have to remain a daydream.

4. Catching someone reading the same book as you in public, and then bonding over how much you’re enjoying said book.

I once had a woman tap on my shoulder as I was reading Heather O’Neill’s Lullabies for Little Criminals on the bus to tell me how much she loved the book. Unfortunately, I hadn’t read enough of it to have a good discussion about it with her at the time, but since then I’ve hoped and prayed that I could 1. see someone reading one of my favourite books on transit and 2. have the courage to start talking to them about it. Spontaneous book club!

5. Being able to remember all the details in all the books I’ve read.

Sometimes reading so voraciously has its downfalls: I find it so hard to keep track of certain things, especially names. I can hardly remember the names of the secondary characters in the book I just finished a few days ago! This is not necessarily a problem, but it definitely makes things difficult when you’re reading a book in a series and you can’t remember what happened in the book before. #booknerdproblems

So there you go! Just a few of my bookish daydreams. (I’m sure the list could have gone on forever.) Do you have any bookish daydreams? Do we share any of the same dreams?

6 thoughts on “Daydreams of Bookworms

  1. A.M.B. says:

    Now that I read mostly ebooks on the train, the author wouldn’t know I was reading their book! I’d probably be too engaged in what I’m reading to even notice she was there. 😉

  2. The Paperback Princess says:

    I guarantee that Margaret Atwood takes public transit!
    I’ve had a few people ask me about the books I’m reading on the bus or tell me that they loved that book but I’ve never done the same! I always want to but then I think that they are reading and probably want to be left alone. I should think of it more as a “spontaneous book club”!
    The home-library is definitely a dream. I want a dedicated room with floor to ceiling bookshelves around the whole space and comfy chairs, lots of blankets and pillows, and a windowseat with a view of the English countryside. That last one is probably difficult to get as I live in Canada…

  3. Heather Bee says:

    Oh, to work with books again. I spent time as a student library assistant in college (many years ago). Now I’d love to return to that work. Or to just being paid to sit in a roomful of books all day. Wouldn’t that be lovely?

  4. cubbieblue26 says:

    Such a fun post, Karen! I, too, have similar daydreams to you! One time, I had someone comment on my book selection while I was reading at the airport – it made me even more excited to dig in as I was just getting started. I need to spend more time reading in public to see if I can get that to happen again! One of my other favorite daydreams – an author I admire becoming my writing/critique partner! Can you even imagine?

Leave a Reply

