Armchair BEA | Introductions

Karen One More Page Blog

Hi everyone! This week is an exciting week for me. By the time you read this (yes, I did have to schedule this post) I will be either on a Greyhound for the last few hours of my three day cross-country trip to Vancouver or I will have just arrived, feeling tired but excited! For those of you who follow my blog already and aren’t familiar with Armchair BEA, it’s a companion to the actual BEA (Book Expo America) that’s being held in New York City from May 29th – May 31st this year.

This year is my first year blogging (and thus participating in Armchair BEA) and I’m so excited! So, without further ado, here are some things about me:

1. My name is Karen and I started this blog, One More Page…, in February 2014 so I’ve been blogging for around four months now! I’m blogging from Toronto, Ontario in Canada. I’ve always been an avid reader and after graduating with an English Literature degree from UBC I just couldn’t stay away from writing about books! Thus, this blog was formed. The best part? Meeting bookish friends from around the world πŸ™‚

2. The books I review on this blog are mostly adult fiction though I’ve been reading a lot more YA since this blog started! You can also find me tweeting @karenfma, on Facebook, Pinterest, and on Goodreads.

3. My ideal reading space would be anywhere that’s cozy and full of books! Here are some bookshelves that I would LOVE to have in my house —> To Pinterest we go!

4. I’ve met so many amazing book blogs it’s so hard to choose which ones to mention here! Shannon fromΒ River City ReadingΒ has been so friendlyΒ and has helped me so much that I have to mention her here (hi!), Giselle from Book Nerd Canada has been amazing as well and it was lovely to meet her in person a few weeks ago, and I’ve had so much fun chatting with M from Backlist Books these few weeks on Twitter! I’d highly recommend checking these blogs out! I wish I could name everyone’s blog! (Did I miss any good ones? Let me know in the comments!)

5. My favourite book that came out last year was A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki. You can read my review here! This year I’ve read so many amazing books but the one that’s impacted me the most so far is Miriam Toews’ All My Puny Sorrows. It’s beautiful. You can read my review here.

Thanks for checking out my blog! Where are you blogging from? Do you have any book recommendations for me? I would love to know!

41 thoughts on “Armchair BEA | Introductions

  1. Suey says:

    Hey! I recognize your twitter picture. πŸ™‚ Welcome to Armchair BEA. I hope you have a blast this week. And I hope you had a great trip!

    • kmn04books says:

      Thanks, Monika! I was definitely pleasantly surprised by how much I loved that book. I mean, I knew I would like it but I had no idea just how great it would be. I’m glad you enjoyed it too! I’m so happy to be a part of the book blogging world – it’s been so amazing meeting like-minded friends like you!

  2. Naomi says:

    I’ve been hearing a lot about this Armchair BEA. I’m interested to see what goes on. I also loved All My Puny Sorrows- just posted my review of it today! Have fun in Vancouver!

  3. Lory @ Emerald City Book Review says:

    Nice to meet you Karen! I hope you will read His Dark Materials soon, and I also think you might love Robertson Davies (fellow Canadian) — have you read anything by him? Since you like puns, have you read any Terry Pratchett? I look forward to more of your reviews and recommendations in future!

    Visit my blog at Emerald City Book ReviewΒ 

    • kmn04books says:

      Hi Lory, nice to meet you too! I definitely need to read His Dark Materials soon; I can’t believe I haven’t already yet! I haven’t read anything from Robertson Davies yet, so thanks for the rec! Which book would you suggest I start with first?

      • Lory @ Emerald City Book Review says:

        I think most people start with the Deptford Trilogy (three linked books that cover the same basic story from different points of view): Fifth Business, The Manticore, and World of Wonders. My personal favorite is called What’s Bred in the Bone. However, they are ALL terrific — I’d say look them up and pick one that appeals to you. Happy reading!

      • Em @ Backlist Books says:

        Jumping in on your convo – I really enjoyed Robertson Davies. I read a bunch of his books awhile back. I’d recommend starting with the Deptford Triloby (Fifth Business being the first in the trilogy). Though the Salterton Trilogy was also pretty good. Maybe I need to re-read, as my memory of them is a little fuzzy! I loved the book Terry Pratchett wrote with Neil Gaiman – Good Omens – probably my fave book of all time!

  4. Em @ Backlist Books says:

    First of all, thank you so much for the shout out! *blushes*
    Secondly, I really hope you made it safe and sound! I didn’t realize you were traveling by Greyhound – so now I’m a little bit worried. On the plus side the sun seems to be coming out, so if you are here (or nearly here) it’ll be pretty for you!
    I haven’t started A Tale for the Time Being yet, but you were totally right about AMPS, so I’m looking forward to it.
    Really glad you decided to start book blogging. Your blog inspires me and I definitely enjoy chatting with you too! πŸ™‚

    • kmn04books says:

      Hi Em, of course!! It’s been so much fun talking to you πŸ™‚ I made it to Vancouver safe and sound, albeit a bit tired. I’m so excited that it’s not raining! I had company for the greyhound so it wasn’t too too bad. You should definitely read A Tale For the Time Being if you get the chance – it’s really great. It does deal with sensitive subject matters like bullying and depression again; just to give you a heads up. (Sometimes I find the books that have the most difficult-to-read subjects stay with me the most…)

      • Em @ Backlist Books says:

        Phew! Glad you made it. I’ve got it in my TBR pile. Thanks for the heads up! I was thinking about this a bit after reading your review of The Girl Who Was Saturday Night, and I think it’s not so much the topic as how it’s dealt with. Like AMPS was a very heavy topic, but there was humour and a sort of cock-eyed optimism to it that made it hopeful despite the heavy things that happened. So I think that’s key.

      • kmn04books says:

        I agree. And I think The Girl Who Was Saturday Night does that really well. Every time I read the quote I posted in my review my heart does this weird tuggy thing… It’s just so beautifully written.

  5. Megan says:

    This is my first time hearing about All My Puny Sorrows. It sounds really interesting and has been placed on my wish list with great speed. πŸ˜€

    • kmn04books says:

      I really hope you get a chance to read it! It’s an amazing book. Thanks for your comment, and sorry it took me so long to get back to you! I must’ve missed it when I was approving comments!

    • kmn04books says:

      Aw, shucks πŸ˜› She’s great, isn’t she? Ps. Sorry for taking so long to get back to you! I missed a bunch of comments when I was approving them while on vacation/on the greyhound and I only just saw these!

  6. Athira says:

    You have a great blog here! I have Tale for the Time Being on my wishlist! Need to read it soon. Hope you have so much fun this week! Armchair BEA is one of my favorite events.

    • kmn04books says:

      Thank you Athira! You should definitely read A Tale for the Time Being ASAP. It’s a beautiful book. I’m really excited to be a part of Armchair BEA this year! It’s been so fun chatting with other bloggers! πŸ˜€

  7. Deb A. Marshall (@debamarshall) says:

    Blogging Middle Grade from Alberta! Hope your trip was a good one and you are settled. I’ve added both your books to my to read list (yep, I do read adult fiction from time to time!) Not sure if you have read Alice Munro’s Dear Life yet, but if not and you like short stories, it is one of her best collections (imo).

    And oh my gosh…those book shelves on your pinterest board. Cheers and have fun with #armchairbea!

    • kmn04books says:

      Thanks, Deb! Nice to meet you πŸ™‚ I haven’t read Alice Munro’s Dear Life yet but I’ve been meaning to check some of her work out since she won the Nobel Prize for Literature! Thanks for reminding me to get on that. I hope you enjoy the books I recommended!

Leave a Reply

