Monday Musings | Library Love

Distant Places by Noah Friebel. 10 Bookish Things I'd Like To Do This Summer (Besides Reading)

Credit: Noah Friebel  Flickr | Facebook

Happy Monday, friends! How’s your week going? I finished reading A Little Life over the weekend, and fell into something similar to despair. That book just rips your heart out and stomps on it, doesn’t it? (I’m obviously still not over it…)

Anyway, as I was walking home today, my thoughts (naturally) drifted towards my local library and how wonderful it is. The Toronto Public Library system is honestly one of the best I’ve ever experienced. There are so many books! They will send books to my home branch! I can place holds for books that aren’t even out yet! I’m sure many library systems are fantastic, so I thought I’d encourage the library love!

Do you love your library system? What’s your favourite thing about it? What’s the most beautiful branch you’ve been to?

9 thoughts on “Monday Musings | Library Love

  1. Erin says:

    I haven’t read A Little Life yet, but it’s on my TBR that I hope to get to soon. Geez, it seems like my TBR list is never ending…Anyways, I’m with you 100% on loving the TPL! I’ve been to quite a few over the years but I guess recently my favourite has been the Reference Library. Not only do they have EVERYTHING, the layout is gorgeous. Every time I go, I’m amazed that I can see all the way to the ground floor with a beautiful pond, gift shop, and coffee shop. Why can’t all libraries be like that one?

  2. Alyssa Sherlock (@asherlockwrites) says:

    I love libraries! I would never be able to afford all of the books I’ve been able to read because of my library. My library has a similar system – you can get books from libraries all over the city sent to your home branch. The best part is that they’re sometimes open in the evening, which is good since I’m busy during the day! 🙂

  3. cat says:

    I JUST got a library card today and I’m so excited to have all these books in my grasp! I live in Buffalo and the library will also bring in books from other lib’s if they don’t have what you like. So perfect! I just took out Cruel Beauty, Shatter Me, and some random YA book I know nothing about 🙂

  4. Naomi says:

    My library can’t get rid of me (even though they probably want to because most of the books I ask for are ones they don’t have). 🙂
    I don’t know about the most beautiful library, but the most impressive one I’ve been in is the new Halifax library. My daughter said it was like Hogwarts with all the zig-zagging staircases.

  5. Heather Bee says:

    I am also in love with my library. I’m constantly placing books on hold (they’ll send them to my home branch, too) and saving lists for the future. Almost everything I’ve read from TOB I’ve gotten from my library so far. It’s one of my favorite places!

    I just started A Little Life this week. I’m bracing myself for an intense ride!

  6. writereads says:

    Edmonton’s Public Library system was actually voted Best Library in North America for 2015! I love the library system here in Edmonton, though I was just complaining about it today because two of the books I wanted weren’t even in the system, but that happens quite rarely, so I guess I should get over it :). My favourite one is the Strathcona Branch, though I will admit that our branches aren’t that pretty. -Tania
    (http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/edmonton/edmonton-public-library-named-best-in-north-america-1.2672702)

  7. Milliebot says:

    I don’t frequent my local libraries often becuase i can’t control myself and always borrow too many books. My tbr doesn’t need help. Lol. My library has a cool reading room with a fireplace, high backed chairs and an old card catalog wall.

  8. Shan says:

    I absolutely LOVE the Toronto library system. My local branch is small so I rely on them sending books to my branch. In fact, I rarely wander the shelves (which I kind of miss.) And I love putting books on hold while still on order and I like the way you can control online when your holds come to you.

Leave a Reply

