January 2016

Divergent, Finding Winnie, Lindsay Mattick

Happy Friday, friends! I haven’t done a monthly summary for a LONG time, so I thought that I’d start doing it again in the new year. This January I ended up reading a total of 11 books, which is way more that I’ve read in a month in a long time. To see my 2016 50 Book Pledge Read shelf, click here!

This month, I read:

*99 Days by Katie Cotugno
*How to Love by Katie Cotugno
*Be Frank With Me by Julia Claiborne Johnson
*The Wild Truth by Carine McCandless
*Divergent by Veronica Roth
*Insurgent by Veronica Roth
*Allegiant by Veronica Roth
*Catherine, Called Birdie by Karen Cushman
*Foxlowe by Eleanor Wasserberg
*Finding Winnie by Lindsey Mattick
*Disclaimer by Renee Knight

I think one of the big reasons that allowed me to read so much was the #24in48 readathon, which encouraged me to read A LOT in one weekend. It also helped that I read a lot of young adult novels (and one picture book). This month, I started off with the opposite: the long and emotional A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara. It was a finalist for the Man Booker Prize last year and I’ve heard so many great things about it. Since it’s finally out in paperback, I figured I’d give it a shot!

What are you reading this month? Did you read any of the books that I read? How was your January reading?

6 thoughts on “January 2016

  1. Yvo says:

    I’ve read the Divergent series in 2014 if I remember correctly, and wasn’t a fan of the sequels… I have 99 Days, Disclaimer and A Little Life on my TBR; especially the last one sounds like an interesting read!

  2. The Paperback Princess says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever done one of these! What did you think of Disclaimer in the end??
    Catherine Called Birdy….I haven’t heard of that book in years! That’s a good memory right there! How was Be Frank With Me? I really want to read that.
    I think I ended up reading 11 books in January too, which actually really surprised me because it did not get off to a good reading start AT ALL.

  3. DoingDewey says:

    You did get a lot of reading done last month! I’ll be especially excited to hear how you liked Be Frank With Me and Disclaimer, since I enjoyed both of those myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

