Wishlist Wednesday | The Widow by Fiona Barton

The Widow Fiona Barton Evidence Bag

Okay, okay, so I’m technically cheating as I was a lucky recipient of an advanced copy of this week’s Wishlist Wednesday pick and have already read it, but I’m so excited for you all to read it that I wanted to highlight it in this post!

The book was sent in a really intriguing evidence bag with some case details and a pack of Skittles. Little did I know that I wouldn’t be able to eat the Skittles after reading the book. If you haven’t guessed by now, Fiona Barton’s The Widow is a crime novel — a new-to-me genre that I’m loving immensely.

The book follows a few different characters, but in the center of it all is Jean. For years Jean has been living her life as “the wife of a suspected criminal,” but now, her husband is dead. Will the truth of his crimes finally come out now that he isn’t around to control her? Or is there more to the story than everyone thinks…?

This book was so entertaining and took me no time to read at all. I can’t wait for it to come out!

Are you a fan of crime fiction? Are you interested in The Widow?

10 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday | The Widow by Fiona Barton

  1. Naomi says:

    I am one of those people who doesn’t tend to read a book if I haven’t heard much about it yet, unless I have read and loved the same author before. So, my copy of The Widow is still just sitting there waiting for me to read the reviews. I think yours is the second one I’ve seen, and both have been positive, so things are starting to look good!

  2. The Paperback Princess says:

    I am SO HAPPY you finally decided to take a chance on this genre! This is how it happens, Karen – you pick one up, just to try and before you know it, every other book is the genre and you are ADDICTED in a bad way.
    Yeah, Skittles are for sure a no-go for me now. I really liked this one – well paced, intriguing, giving me just enough to feel like I’m part of the mystery and then…oh that ending.

    • Karen says:

      YES – I’m officially addicted! I finally ate the Skittles during a desperate night (I was craving sugar like no other). I can’t pass certain areas in my neighbourhood without thinking about this book now because I kept imagining him on my street as I read the book. REALLY bad idea.

Leave a Reply

