Wishlist Wednesday | Reader, I Married Him Edited by Tracy Chevalier

Jane Eyre Inspired Short Stories One More Page Blog

Happy Wednesday, friends! In an effort to give some structure to my blogging schedule, I’ve decided to bring back my weekly Wishlist Wednesday posts for the time being. They’re always so fun to write, and I am never out of ideas for it. 😉 If you’re unfamiliar with it, I basically pick a title (frontlist or backlist) that I haven’t read but am dying to read. If you’re a bookworm with a massive TBR, you’ll understand just how large my selection is when deciding which books to feature. That being said, here’s one book that will be at the top of my reading pile when it comes out.

Ever since I found out about Reader, I Married Him I’ve been so anxious/excited to read it. According to its description, it’s a collection of short stories, edited by Tracy Chevalier, that all start with one iconic line: “Reader, I married him” (from the classic Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë). As an English lit nerd (more on that in Friday’s post!), I absolutely love the idea of this and I can’t wait to see where the selected authors take their stories. I’m willing to bet that each story will be wildly different despite the common sentence. I seriously can’t wait for it! Here are some of the writers that are involved in this project: Emma Donoghue (Room), Evie Wyld (All The Birds, Singing), Patricia Park  (Re Jane), Audrey Niffenegger (The Time Traveler’s Wife), etc.

It comes out on March 22nd this year, and you bet I’ll be reading it soon after.

What are you guys looking forward to reading soon?

11 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday | Reader, I Married Him Edited by Tracy Chevalier

  1. Naomi says:

    Too many books to name. This *is* a good feature for that very reason – you would never run out of ideas. As for this book, I’m adding it to the list. I hope it turns out to be as good as it sounds. The writers involved look promising…

    • Karen says:

      Right? I already have an idea of what I want to write about next week 😉 I hope it is as good as it sounds, too. I’m not aaaalways a super big fan of short stories, but I’m definitely a fan of the Brontes (full disclosure, I’ve never read anything by Anne), so I’m willing to give it a shot!

  2. La La in the Library says:

    I just realized that I used to read a fair amount of short story collections and I don’t any more. At first I thought it might be because of blogging, but it certainly has been much longer than two years for me. I think I might start seeking them out at the library again. This sounds like a good one to start with. I need to finally read Ruin and Rising. A blogging buddy sent it to me in hardcover for my birthday not long after it was published, but I had lost the excitement to read it because a commenter revealed the big spoiler on a non-spoilery review the day it was released. I want to finish that trilogy before I start Six if Crows. I love this feature. 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Aw, that’s so nice of them! I’ve heard a lot about Ruin and Rising, but I haven’t read it yet. I hope you enjoy! (And if you do, don’t forget to tell me so I can give it a go!) I can see why spoilers would make you less excited to read it though. Thank you for the kind words, and thanks for your feedback re: my font size! I really do appreciate it 🙂

  3. Dublin Bookworm says:

    I’m really intrigued by this. I love Jane Eyre. A few years ago I read a similar book based on Pride and Prejudice called The Road to Pemberly, though they didn’t all focus on what happens after the book early ends. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it not generally going in for the spin off stuff.

Leave a Reply

