Monday Musings | Spooky Reads

Christmas Lights

Now that we’re halfway through October, I feel like we’ve officially entered holiday season. It all started with Canadian Thanksgiving, which  was last week, and I am now in full-swing celebration mode!

I have to admit that I’m not usually the type to go all out for Halloween, but if you’ve been following me on my social media channels, you’ll know that I was lucky enough to receive an advanced copy of David Mitchell’s upcoming novel Slade House from Penguin Random House Canada, and I have been hooked on spooky reads ever since. (Who would’ve thought!)

So this Monday Musings is really less of a musing and more for a call to my more experienced gothic/horror readers: What should I read next? I’m reading A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis and while it’s not as scary as I thought it would be, I’m still enjoying it a lot.

Also, do you find that you tend to read more spooky/scary books during the Fall, or do you read the same amount all year round? I’m hoping my fascination with scary things persists! (Next step: watch Crimson Peak!)

10 thoughts on “Monday Musings | Spooky Reads

  1. Sarah Emsley says:

    I’m not a huge fan of Halloween, and I don’t read much in the way of gothic or horror, but I do like to read Edith Wharton’s ghost stories in late October (especially “Afterward”).

  2. Naomi says:

    I think if I read anything scary or suspenseful this time of year, it’s only because other people are, then I hear about the books, and I want to read them myself. It is fun to read scary stuff every once in a while, though, isn’t it? Glad you’re enjoying it!

  3. Chelsey says:

    If you’re looking for a little creepy without the total scare factor, I highly recommend Daphne Du Maurier! I read Rebecca in October a few years ago and it was fantastic. Ira Levin’s Rosemary’s Baby is great for that too. And a little Stephen King never hurt anyone :).
    There’s also a relatively new one, The Library at Mount Char that is kind of Neil Gaiman meets Joe Hill and it’s fantastic!
    I’m totally with you with reading darker things in the fall months. When the weather fits the atmosphere of a book, it’s such a joy! Enjoy :).

  4. ryouchan90 says:

    If you want to read some spooky novels there is an authour named James Rollins who is my favourite authours. Check out his book “Blood Gospel” you will love if you like historical fiction. It blends religion and horror together

      • ryouchan90 says:

        I highly recommend him if you like the historical fiction genre. His righting style is similar to Dan Brown. He has a new book that just came out called Bone Labyrinth, I am planning on adding it to my collection soon. I have 13 of his novels so far!

Leave a Reply

