Monday Musings | Primary School Book Swaps

April Wrap Up One More Page Blog 2015

A few weeks ago, a random memory popped into my head that made me smile. I was reading (nothing new there), and remembered a thing called “book swap” (or perhaps it had a more eloquent/punny name?) that used to happen from time to time in school. The concept is pretty self-explanatory: on assigned days, everyone in my class (I’m thinking this was around grade 2-4) would bring a book that they no longer wanted on their shelves to school with the purpose of swapping it with another classmate for something new.

Even though it would have made a better story if I could remember any memorable titles that I’ve received in this way, I can still clearly remember the excitement and frenzy that was caused by these book swaps. We would all sit in a circle, put our books in front of us, and then, on the count of three, we’d switch places with our classmates until we landed on a new book that interested us. Oh the thrill!

I’m almost certain that I was already a bookworm by the time these book swaps were introduced to my class, but I could definitely see how the idea of trading would excite and intrigue new readers. Luckily, I don’t ever recall these trades ending poorly – only in smiles.

I wonder: Is this a common practice in classrooms? Did your school have book swaps like these or something similar? What’s your favourite bookish memory from school?

7 thoughts on “Monday Musings | Primary School Book Swaps

  1. Naomi says:

    We didn’t have them at my school, but I have heard that they have them now. I think, though, they are school-wide – not just each classroom.
    My favourite book-related school memory is when my fourth grade teacher read Charlie and the Chocolate Factory out loud to us in class. It was our favourite time of the day. 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Wow! I can’t imagine a school-wide book swap. That must be so exciting! I can totally relate to the joy of being read to; Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is a great one!

  2. cubbieblue26 says:

    I currently work in an elementary school where there is an all school book swap one time per year. The students turn in books for tickets, which they then use to select other books. I think overall it gets mixed results, but many of the kids seem to love it!

Leave a Reply

