5 Reasons Why I Loved The Martian by Andy Weir

The Martian Andy Weir Book Cover Blog Review Matt Damon

Last Christmas I was extremely grateful to receive The Martian, one of my top to-read books, from my dear friend M at Rain City Reads (thank you so much!!!). I completely fell in love with the story and was captivated from start to finish. I’d meant to blog about this sooner, but somehow I never got to it. Well, better late than never, right? Since I’m sure many of you have either read this book already or have read numerous reviews, I figured I would write a list of 5 reasons why I love The Martian so much. (Read the book’s synopsis here!)

1. The cheeky narrator.

One of the first things you’ll notice after starting the book is how humourous Mark Watney, the narrator and stranded astronaut, is. Personally, I’d find it pretty impossible to be so funny and sarcastic in his situation, but his ability to be like that is what makes him so lovable. He combines logic and science (yay!) with humour and heart to become one of my favourite narrators in recent history.

2. The science.

Disclaimer: I know next to nothing about botany and engineering and my math is… functional. But Weir makes everything so believable. I really could picture Mark figuring out how to grow crops using his own biomatter as manure, and how to create his own water using his engineering and chemistry knowledge. Best of all, he made me feel like I understood everything he was saying! Sure, his plans may be far-fetched in reality, but it sure didn’t feel like it when I was reading.

3. The suspense.

Will he make it out alive??? So many elements are working against Mark, from having to grow his own food, create water in a highly combustible environment, and move his whole station to a different part of Mars where the next mission will be. There’s also incredible suspense on Earth: will NASA even be able to create a vessel to send to Mars to save Mark in time?

4. It’s not all about Mark.

Judging from what I’ve said so far about The Martian, it would be easy to assume that the book is all about Mark. But it’s not. Weir also takes the time to develop secondary characters, from Mark’s crew mates (who followed orders and left Mars thinking Mark had died, and then had to find out that he hadn’t and they had essentially abandoned him) to the NASA employees who have to put together some sort of plan. They all seem so real, so believable, and have their own voices. It makes the book so fascinating and fun to read. I can’t wait to see this on the big screen.

5. It has a great publishing story.

Okay, so maybe this isn’t really about The Martian’s content, but I love hearing a great success story. Did you know that The Martian was initially self-published on Weir’s website and then picked up by a Newmarket-based audiobook publisher Podium Publishing? Go Canada! Eventually, Weir caught the attention of traditional book publishers, and, well, the rest is history.

So there you go! 5 reasons why I loved The Martian by Andy Weir. I absolutely can’t wait to see this on the big screen and judging by the trailer, I think it’s going to be amazing! Watch it here:

Have you read The Martian? What did you think? Are you looking forward to seeing the movie?

7 thoughts on “5 Reasons Why I Loved The Martian by Andy Weir

  1. Tasha says:

    I loved The Martian for all these reasons too 🙂 I’m personally quite disappointed in the trailer because they have basically revealed the entire plot! 😦 however I am looking forward to seeing the movie!

  2. Naomi says:

    I didn’t know the book’s publishing history – interesting! I did like the book, mostly because I thought it was crazy smart. I’m not a big fan of space, but this one kept my interest. I’m hoping to see the movie sometime!

  3. Sarah's Book Shelves says:

    I loved this book too and thought Watney was hilarious! And Weir did do a great job making the science accessible! I loved the whole Hunger Games type “the world is watching” vibe as well.

    And – I didn’t know the publishing backstory – pretty cool!

  4. The Paperback Princess says:

    My husband read and loved this book so much. He’s been trying to get me to read this for months but I’ve shied away because I’m not that into sci-fi. But this post is making me think that this will possibly be the next book I read so thanks!

  5. Lianne @ eclectictales.com says:

    I read this book recently and I agree re: #1; I’m surprised his humour was relatively intact considering the starkness of his situation, but I suppose it would have to be to get through it. I’m glad there were chapters focusing on what’s going on back at mission control and with the crew, it’s a nice break from Mark’s situation.

    I only found out after reading the book about its publishing history! Very cool, I’m looking forward to the movie 🙂

Leave a Reply

