The 2015 Scotiabank Giller Prize Longlist is Here!

I got to blog about the 2015 Scotiabank Giller Prize longlist! Which books will you be rooting for? Are you going to read the longlist? (I hope I’ll get a chance to!)

The Savvy Reader

I don’t know about you, but I always look forward to book prize announcements. There’s just something about seeing writers’ hard work recognized that I really enjoy. They’re also a great way to discover new titles you might have missed! So, I was incredibly excited to find out who made the longlist for this year’s Scotiabank Giller Prize.

Founded by Jack Rabinovitch in honour of his late wife in 1994, the Giller Prize aims to promote and support outstanding Canadian fiction published each year. This year, the jury was comprised of 5 judges instead of the standard 3, allowing for more diverse opinions and perspectives. It definitely made for an exciting list! So, without further ado, here are our 2015 Scotiabank Giller Prize longlisted titles:

We’re so excited to see Outline by Rachel Cusk and Daydreams of Angels by Heather O’Neill on the list! Which book do you hope…

View original post 23 more words

4 thoughts on “The 2015 Scotiabank Giller Prize Longlist is Here!

  1. Naomi says:

    I was surprised to find that I have heard of most of the books and authors on the longlist this year. And, I’ve already read 4 of them! Which, of course, just made me want to read as many as I could, because it seemed more attainable than usual. I’m sure I won’t get them all read, but if the right books are picked, I might get the shortlist read. It’s never been one of my goals to read all the Giller books, but it would still be fun to do if I could. 🙂

    • Carole Besharah says:

      Naomi! You could read all the shortlisted books (5 titles). Heck, your four books could land on the shortlist, then you’d only have ONE lest to read :).

  2. Carole Besharah says:

    My favorite CanLit read from 2015 is Alix Hawley’s All True Not a Lie in It. Loved it and glad the author is busy writing the sequel. I look forward to read several books on this list.

Leave a Reply

