Monday Musings | Summer Reads

One More Page Book Blog Summer Reads

Hi friends! How’s your summer going?

As you may have been able to tell from my terrible blogging schedule, I’ve been a busy bee. My publishing class ended, and then I got this exciting news, so I took a small break to recuperate and get ready for things to come.

Anyway, as I was thinking about reading (what else is new?) I started thinking about the term “summer reads” and whether the seasons play a part in my reading habits. After musing about it long and hard, I have to say that I definitely prefer “lighter” reads during the summer compared to more “serious” stuff in the fall/winter. I wonder why that is? Part of me thinks it’s because I’ve always taken advantage of summer vacations to read “fun” books, whereas I left all of my required reading till September when I was in school. Another part of me just blames the beautiful weather!

What about you? Do you read more of a certain type of book during any specific season? Do you equate “summer reads” with “light reading” like I do?

10 thoughts on “Monday Musings | Summer Reads

  1. TJ @ MyBookStrings says:

    That’s great news about your internship. Enjoy! I have to say I’m the other way around… In Winter, particularly in December, I often crave comfort reads. But I don’t mind “heavy” books in summer.

  2. Denise says:

    Hey, well done with the internship! I have never distinguished between the seasons, but maybe that is because I live in sometimes-cold-and-rainy-over-summer England

  3. The Paperback Princess says:

    Congrats on the internship! That’s going to be amazing!
    I think seasonal reading is totally a thing – even the types of books that are released during the year vary by season. I think we start with light reading in the summer because it’s a welcome break from school and then as we grow out of school, we carry on with light summer reading because it’s a break from the rest of the year. In the summer we tend to take a vacation from our regular lives whether that’s because we’re on vacation or have kids that are out of school – schedules just don’t dominate in the summer. I definitely prefer reading heavier, more serious books in the fall and winter. When I read a biography of George III in June I got through it but the whole time I was thinking “what am I doing?”

  4. ebookclassics says:

    Congratulations Karen! So happy that your dreams are coming true. I always associate summer reading with content that requires less concentration, but really any book that grabs my attention and is fast-paced I would consider a great summer read.

  5. Sarah's Book Shelves says:

    I think I used to equate summer with light reads, but not as much anymore. I put together a summer reading list for the blog every year, but it’s not necessarily all really light stuff. Some are page turners. Lately, I’ve tended to use summer (especially July and August, since they tend to be lighter on new releases) to catch up on books people have been raving about from the first part of the year, but I haven’t gotten to them yet.

  6. bookishwanderlovee says:

    Congrats on the internship, Karen!! I recently realized that I have a hard time reading Fantasy and Sci-Fi books during this summer. I seem to have read more Contemporary Romance, classics, and fiction during the summer months.

  7. Shaina says:

    Congrats on the internship! That’s going to be such fun. 🙂

    I know I’ve got more attention/concentration for heavier books in the colder months, mostly because I’m spending most of my time holed up at home under a blanket.

Leave a Reply

