Monday Musings | Childhood Favourites

Karen Ma Monthly Summary September 2014 One More Page

You know that oft-quoted saying “People will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel?”

That phrase popped into my mind today as I was reminiscing about my favourite childhood books. I have many childhood favourites that I still remember by name (Charlotte’s Web, I Want to Go Home, Little House on the Prairie, etc) but there are also some “lost favourites” that I can vaguely recall but can’t quite place anymore. For example, at one point, one of my favourite books was about this kid who was trick-or-treating with his friends when he suddenly gets the hiccoughs. His friends all suggest different ways to get rid of the hiccoughs but nothing seems to work… To be honest, I don’t even remember how the book ends (perhaps someone scares him – thus fitting the Hallowe’en theme – and he’s cured?), but I remember the delight that I felt when reading the book, and I often find myself thinking back to that plot when I have the hiccoughs. (It’s kind of weird what kind of thing sticks with a person, eh?)

Anyway, this got me thinking about how important children’s literature is. I mean, it’s probably been around 20 years since I encountered the book I described above, and I’m still thinking about it! I wouldn’t be surprised if I was 80 and still laughing about it while powering through some hiccoughs. That’s some serious staying power. It makes me so thankful that there are so many wonderful and talented children’s writers that create not only educational, but memorable and delightful books that will last with generations and generations of children.

So, I may not remember the title or the author of one of my childhood favourites, but I will always remember how reading it made me feel.

Do you have any book plots that have stuck with you despite not remembering the title/author of the book? Does anyone have any idea which book I’m talking about? (It’s been a while since I’ve tried to find it via Google.)

12 thoughts on “Monday Musings | Childhood Favourites

  1. cricketmuse says:

    Yours doesn’t ring a bell, unfortunately. I’ve long looked for a story that I only remember the cover with a fairy that had hair like a thistle. Zee? I’ll look for yours as you look for mine–deal?

  2. Sarah Emsley says:

    I don’t know the title for the book you’re thinking of. I’ve been thinking about childhood favourites recently because I read the diary I kept when I was eight, which mentions things like The Secret Garden and Superfudge. I have a vague memory of a book about two sisters, one of whom is very sick. Maybe it’s the older sister, and I think it might be leukaemia. For some reason, the main thing I remember is the way I pictured their house, with a grand staircase at the centre. No idea if this was prominent in the book, or if I elaborated on the setting.

    P.S. What did you think of Jane, the Fox, and Me? One of my new favourites.

    • Karen @ One More Page... says:

      Oh wow, that sounds like it could be a really heartbreaking book.

      I loved Jane, the Fox, and Me! I felt so protective of the protagonist and I absolutely loved the artwork and the use of space and colour. It’s now one of my favourites too!

      • Sarah Emsley says:

        So, your comment about trying Google inspired me to do what should have been obvious to me in the first place — Google tells me the book I’m remembering is A Summer to Die, by Lois Lowry. It was so sad to read just now that the story was based on Lowry’s experience of her own sister’s death. Thank you for inspiring me to match up my vague memory with the right book title. Now I’m going to check the shelves in my parents’ attic to see if the book is still there.

  3. Shaina says:

    Never read yours, but I’m SO familiar with this. There was one story about a magic lunch box that I think of without fail if I see a lunch box!

  4. Naomi says:

    Your mystery story sounds like one of the Little Bear stories. Little Bear has the hiccups, and his friends try to rid him of them. One way is by scaring him, but I don’t remember it being Halloween themed. There is probably more than one story about getting rid of the hiccups in children’s literature.
    One of my favourites is Ferdinand the Bull. I will never forget how he loved to stop and smell the flowers. 🙂

  5. Leah says:

    Yes! There’s this book that I remember loving as a kid, which I think belonged to my mother when SHE was a kid. I can’t even remember it clearly enough to say what it was about, but I just have images in my head of what I saw in my mind while reading, and I remember being completely enthralled.

    • Karen @ One More Page... says:

      That is so cool. It’s like a story that gets passed on from generation to generation that becomes something else entirely. Our imaginations are so powerful, and it’s weird to think about the things you still retain as an adult!

Leave a Reply

