May 2015

May 2015 One More Page Blog Karen

Books read:

*The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy by Sam Maggs
*Anne of Windy Poplars by L.M. Montgomery
*Miss Emily by Nuala O’Connor
*So You’ve Been Publicly Shamed by Jon Ronson
*Re Jane by Patricia Park
*In The Unlikely Event by Judy Blume
*The Knockoff by Lucy Sykes and Jo Piazza

Happy Sunday everyone! (And a belated Happy June!)

I can’t say May was the easiest or best month that I’ve had, but I think this is a time in my life where I’ll look back on and realize that it was a really important one. For one thing, I officially started publishing school! Publishing has always been something that I’ve been excited about, so it made sense for me to take the next step and learn what it’s all about. I’m so grateful to have the opportunity to learn from industry professionals, as well as meet like-minded classmates that will hopefully turn into future colleagues. It’s been a lot of fun! We’re doing something called “Pub Fight” right now, which is a fantasy football-esque game for books. ‘Nuff said.

Reading-wise, I slowly but steadily read 7 books this month. I actually had no idea I’d read this much until putting this post together! It’s so funny how that happens sometimes. I had another month of great reading. I’ve stuck to my goal ย of reading more non-fiction this year, and read two non-fiction books this month. The Fangirl’s Guide to the Galaxy made me squee, and So You’ve Been Publicly Shamedย offered a really interesting take on how online shaming affects those involved. Fiction-wise, In The Unlikely Event was a stand-out, but I could have told you that even before reading it. I grew up reading Judy Blume, and I loved that this novel, while intended for adults, included younger voices. I read Re Jane while intense things were happening in my life, and I’ll be forever grateful for its ability to distract me from said things. It’s a modern Jane Eyre retelling set in New York and Seoul featuring a Korean-American protagonist, and I loved it a lot. Reviews for these books to come!

How was your May? Here’s to warmer weather, and a happy month of June reading!

28 thoughts on “May 2015

  1. Joy says:

    Congratulations! That sounds so exciting. To be able to do something you love and be it your career to boot, is precious. Good luck! I’m also curious to read Re Jane. I think it’s very interesting! Have a great June!

  2. Naomi says:

    Congratulations on starting Publishing School – very exciting news! You also did a lot of great reading. I’ve been hearing good things about Re Jane and The Unlikely Event, so I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on them. I’ve also had my eye on Miss Emily – how did that one go?

  3. tanya (52 books or bust) says:

    You’ll love pub school. Try to do as many internships as possible. That’s the way to get a job! I got to work at HarperCollins when I was at Ryerson. So great.
    I’m going to be starting my Masters in Publishing in September, so I’ll be joining you at the school thing.

    • Karen @ One More Page... says:

      I really liked it because I always get incredibly attached to Blume’s adolescent characters. Also, while we know that there will be multiple “unlikely events,” Blume spreads it out in a way that you never know when it’s going to happen. I think that kept me on my toes and kept me feeling super invested!

  4. christine (@padfootslibrary) says:

    Congrats on starting publishing school, Karen. I remember us talking about it at a book event and I’m so glad you took the plunge! I hope it is going well for you ๐Ÿ˜€

    Happy reading this month! Miss Emily is so good! ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. Cornelia says:

    Congratulations on starting school! I’m headed in that direction soon (not publishing school, but grad school too) and am glad you were able to get in so much good reading – it’s reassuring, hah! Looking forward to the reviews, and happy June reading.

  6. Shaina says:

    Are you taking part in the #BlumeAlong? It might be up your alley, if you grew up on Blume!

    Glad you had such a fantastic reading month. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

