Monday Musings | Keeping Up With Features

February 2015 One More Page Reading Wrap Up

Hi friends! Happy Monday!

As I was thinking about what to post for my Monday Musing this week, I took a step back and thought about my Monday Musings feature as a whole. I thought about how it’s one of my favourite things to write for my blog (because of discussions like this and this). It’s also a feature that provides structure to my blog. I don’t like posting multiple reviews in a row, but sometimes I don’t have time (unfortunately) to pull together a non-review post. Because of this, I’ve often found implementing features to be really really helpful.

But on the other hand, features need to be maintained. There are a few features that I’ve started that haven’t been able to become permanent fixtures of this site (I’m looking at you, Things I Learned From… and My Week on Instagram…) I often wonder whether these “features” are ever missed by readers of this site (please let me know, if so!) or if they’re seen as one-off posts.

What do you think? If you’re a blogger, do you find that features help you keep a structure to your blog? As a blog reader, do you look forward to feature posts? Do you miss them when a blogger doesn’t post an installment in a while? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

9 thoughts on “Monday Musings | Keeping Up With Features

  1. joyousreads says:

    I hear ya. I do a couple of original stuff on my blog, too. But sometimes, I get stumped on what to write. I’m a shutterbug, so I can sometimes get away with doing a photo post, with very little writing. Lol.

  2. Alice says:

    Features can be a pain to maintain, but I do enjoy them, I think you often have very interesting topics. I find my features are inconsistent because I can;t think of enough to maintain them regularly.

  3. Angélique says:

    Features are my favorite posts in blog, the ones I’m the most likely to come and read on a book blog. Book reviews, it really depends on the blog. Some book blogs, I rarely visit for the book reviews since the blogger has a different taste than me, but I could come regularly for the features.
    I love your Monday Musings and I believe I read them all 🙂 But you’re one of the book blog I visit the most frequent because we like similar books too !

  4. River City Reading says:

    Features definitely seem to have their pros and cons, but if you’re doing them because you and your readers like them then I say you should absolutely keep them. When they start to feel like a strain or you wonder why you bother, it starts to make sense to let go. I’ve had a few that have gone by the wayside, but it just makes more room for something new!

  5. TJ @ MyBookStrings says:

    I have two regular features on my blog, but they are monthly, so they don’t require all that much work. I think that once you don’t enjoy putting the required work into a feature anymore, then it’s ok to stop. Above all, it should be fun for all involved, right?

  6. Sarah's Book Shelves says:

    I think for me it depends on the feature. I love It’s Monday, What Are You Reading because I like the quick snippets about books that haven’t necessarily been fully reviewed yet. And it’s a place I can throw in status updates and misc stuff.

    Other than that one, I’m not sure there’s a feature out there that I would really miss. But, I do enjoy them when they pop up!

  7. cubbieblue26 says:

    I enjoyed both of your previous features – My Week on Instagram and Things I Learned From. I do like to have some structure to my posting schedule – it might not be a feature per se, but a certain type of post I like to do on certain days of the week. Keep up all the great work!

  8. DoingDewey says:

    I find features the hardest to keep up with because reviews can often be pushed back a day but I typically plan features for a specific day. I do have fun doing them though and think they can be a good way to differentiate your blog.

  9. Milliebot says:

    Features are tough. I do alright keeping up with my Friday Judging posts, but even then I forget or don’t plan enough ahead. I tried to start a second feature, just once a month and couldn’t keep up with that either. I hate to be solely a review blog…but I’m not full of tons of new ideas (everything seems to have been done!) and us hard to commit. I’d be happy if I could put out two non-review posts a month, aside from my weekly Judgings. But I don’t want blogging to feel like a hassle, so I haven’t pushed myself much. Keeping a schedule is tough!

Leave a Reply

