Monday Musings | Readers: Independent, or Anti-Social?

Karen One More Page Blog

You may not immediately guess this if we’ve just met, but I would consider myself an extrovert. Nothing excites me more than being around people, whether I know them or not. I often come home after a book launch (as I did tonight) or a casual hangout after work feeling energized and happy.

That being said, I have also had those nights where I absolutely do not want to do anything but read. I’m sure you’ve been there: you’re in the middle of an engrossing book, building up to the climactic scene, and dreading the moment someone comes around and pulls you away. Perhaps this is when readers are labelled “anti-social.”

But I prefer to see this desire to be alone as a good thing. Call it “independence,” if you will. For an extrovert who is living with someone more introverted, I think my love of reading helps create a better balance at home. I’ve often mused that the reason why I became a reader in the first place was because I wanted someone to hang out with. Since it took a while before my younger sister could actively play with me, I turned to books for entertainment instead. Now, this love of reading is paying off again, as it helps me become more independent at home, giving me something wildly exciting (seriously) to do while keeping to myself. Of course, that’s not to say that I don’t hang out with anyone at home, just that being a reader helps me give my roommate some alone time.

What do you think? Are readers often wrongly labeled as “anti-social”? Does reading help you give the people around you space (or help you create alone time for yourself)? I want to know!

6 thoughts on “Monday Musings | Readers: Independent, or Anti-Social?

  1. sharu4ever says:

    I’m the only child at home and I’m extremely bored most of the times. So I easily got addicted to social media. So I was not “actually social” in real life! *oh the irony* but then I decided to get back to my childhood hobby – reading . Damn. Since then, my mother feels I always read and not respond to her properly at home. Like ever. :/

    • Karen @ One More Page... says:

      Haha! Oh no! I think that I definitely turn to social media and reading when I’m bored and alone… I think as long as we keep the balance of being social online and being social in person then it’s not a huge deal if we spend a lot of time reading 😉

  2. Naomi says:

    Tough question. Because I am one of the biggest introverts I know, I am not in a position to call anyone else antisocial. Almost everyone seems more social than me. That’s not to say that I have no friends and that I don’t ever do anything, because I do. But I do less than most people, and I am perfectly happy with a couple of good friends rather than a whole bunch. Also, I can picture myself becoming more social as my children get older and more independent. I think right now, I really cherish any alone time I can get.

  3. Incessant Bookworm says:

    I am a true introvert, hands down – even though my profession is relational and filled with one on one meetings throughout the day. I’m one of those people who love comfortable silence, like reading on public transportation, it’s just understood. However, I do feel somewhat antisocial if I’m waiting in line somewhere and pull out a physical book to read. I feel like in today’s technology age, the go-to for waiting is the smart phone or tablet, scrolling through facebook, instagram, etc. That’s when I feel like I’m one of the outliers when it comes to being in public.

  4. Ashley McKernan (@AshleyMcKernan) says:

    I’m a HUGE introvert and I crave my independence. I don’t need to rely on others to define me. I find social media to be one of the biggest helpers for those of us who are either introverted or independent. It allows us to be social with others but on our own terms. You’re definitely not alone!

Leave a Reply

