Monday Musings | Phrases That Stay With You

Andie M Mitchell It Was Me All Along One More Page Blog

The other day, as I was convincing myself to go for a run, I thought of a phrase that I often go to when I need a nudge: “I’ve never regretted working out.” It’s something that I saw online once that really resonated with me. Normally, just thinking of that will motivate me enough to go outside, but this time I was having a bit of a rough day, and needed some extra encouragement. That’s when this popped into my head:

“Can you do it today?”

This was a question that I came across in food blogger Andie Mitchell’s memoir It Was Me All Along. Mitchell herself discovered this question in O, The Oprah Magazine, at a time in her life when she was having difficulty changing her ingrained eating and exercising habits. She started asking herself:

“Can you exercise today, Andie? Not tomorrow, not the next day, not even a month from now. Today? Eat the best you can, work your plus-sized heart out…today?” (p 119)

And found out that she could. So, with this in mind, she was able to take things one day at a time, and eventually get on track. Since reading Mitchell’s story, this phrase has stayed with me and has been pulled out whenever I need motivation. It reminds me that the answer is always “yes,” and the only reason why I don’t do certain things is because I choose not to, instead of being incapable. This has been so crucial.

Besides wanting to share this small anecdote with you, my thought processes led me to wonder: have there been phrases from your reading that has stayed with you long after you’ve finished the book? It doesn’t have to be non-fiction, necessarily. For a fiction example, I often think of the phrase “an impossible red flower” that Aislinn Hunter used in The World Before Us to describe blood spreading on a shirt. It’s so beautifully visual that I can’t quite shake it from my mind.

Now, on to you! Are there any phrases from your reading that you find yourself thinking about over and over again?

9 thoughts on “Monday Musings | Phrases That Stay With You

  1. Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader says:

    That phrase is nearly perfect. I could use a little bit more of that in my life 😀

    I recently read Citizen by Claudia Rankine. There are so many beautiful phrases in that book that it made my head spin. It will be sticking with me for a long time to come.

  2. Naomi says:

    As you have probably noticed, I love quotes and phrases, and often jot down my favourites. But, there are so many, when asked this question, none come to mind. This also happens to me when people ask if I’ve read any good books recently, and I know that I have read many, but for the life of me, I can’t think of them. Maybe it’s my age sneaking up on me… 🙂

  3. writereads says:

    There are so many, the ones that spring to mind are:
    – Kindred spirits – Anne of Green Gables
    – That’s a christly bloody useless word, Sorry – The Diviners by M. Laurence (and yet I still say it way too much)
    – And so many Terry Pratchett quotes, it would be impossible to list them.

  4. Kaitlyn Sykes says:

    I love this post—I read Andie Mitchell’s book about two months ago and the same phrase has been sticking with me! I really liked her unique perspective on daily motivation.

Leave a Reply

