Monday Musings | So, About Those Habits…

3 Books That Have Inspired One More Page kmn04books 2

A few weeks ago, I reviewed Better Than Before: Mastering the Habits of our Everyday Lives by Gretchen Rubin. (See my review here!) Since then, I’ve used some of her tips to develop new habits (I’m most proud of my new running after work habit), but I’ve also observed the breakdown of a habit: my weekly Monday Musings posts.

In the chapter where Rubin discusses clean slates, she notes that a new beginning (eg. new job, new apartment) can be a catalyst for positive habit formation. She also notes how such changes can cause a disruption in good habits. I found myself in this situation when my weekly trivia night moved from Tuesday nights to Monday nights. For months I’ve been writing these Monday Musings posts after work on Mondays, but with this new activity (and lack of foresight to schedule posts), I let that good habit slip.

Don’t you just love when something you read applies to your real life?

Even though I let this feature slip for the past few weeks, I’m starting to realize that with a bit of scheduling (my old nemesis!), there’s no reason why it shouldn’t continue. So, please accept my apologies if you have been waiting for a Monday Musings post. I will be back – starting today.

Question: Do you have a scheduled time where you write blog posts/read? Do you find it difficult to adjust when something throws a wrench into your plans?

8 thoughts on “Monday Musings | So, About Those Habits…

  1. cubbieblue26 says:

    Since I started my blog in October, I’ve totally fallen off the working out bandwagon. I just find it so hard to fit everything in!

  2. KatieMcD says:

    If I have a burst of creativity, I’ll write a bunch of reviews and posts, but mostly kind of go day to day, which isn’t always the best method. My scheduled is so variable, so I never get into a good routine. Change can be good 🙂

  3. Michelle Widmann says:

    This book made me think about my entire life differently! But I’m the person who doesn’t really have a plan; I just have a due date and a list of things to do. Which worked for me, but I’m sure made my blog a little less quality. So recently I’ve started a couple of series on my blog so that I’m actually forced to make sure I write a couple of times a week!

  4. joyousreads says:

    I used to allocate my weekend to write my posts, but lately, I’m finding that I’m not that inspired. So now, I’m drafting my posts a few hours before it goes live. I guess my point is, sometimes, habits can be broken and dictated by outside forces – in this case, inspiration and the lack thereof.

    Great post, and love your picture!

  5. Blaise @ thebookboulevard says:

    As school has gotten more intense the past few weeks, I haven’t been able to give my blog the attention it deserves for energy-related reasons. I’m hoping the summer will bring not only more reading and thus more content, but also more regular content as I try to configure a schedule that will hopefully last me into the new semester.

  6. Sarah's Book Shelves says:

    Congrats on the after work run – I feel like that’s a great way to clear your head from all the action of the day! And – yes – I have set times when I tend to write blog posts (while my kids take their afternoon naps) and things get completely off kilter if that time gets taken away!

Leave a Reply

