Book Review | Snow White and the 77 Dwarfs by Davide Cali and Raphaelle Barbanègre

Snow White and the 77 Dwarfs Davide Cali Raphaelle Barbanegre

Source: Raphaelle Barbanègre

[I received a digital copy of this book from its Canadian publisher Tundra Books via Netgalley. This does not affect my opinion of the book.]

I’m hoping to keep my review short and sweet, which is exactly what this book was. (I read it in under five minutes and then re-read it, so I could marvel in its humour and illustrations.) Snow White and the 77 Dwarfs asks readers: what would happen if Snow White didn’t meet 7 dwarfs in the forest but 77?

I’ll give you a hint: She has to do A LOT of work.

The downside to reading this book on my Kindle was that I couldn’t fully appreciate the vibrant illustrations by Montreal illustrator Raphaelle Barbanègre. There were so many little details that I would have loved to zoom in on. Here’s one of the illustrations, from Raphaelle Barbanègre’s website:

Snow White and the 77 Dwarfs Page

(Snow White’s expressions throughout the book are golden.)

This is definitely a book that you will want to read a physical copy of. Plus, Davide Cali’s writing is fantastic. It’s so humorous, and written in a way that is perfect for reading out loud. If my mom still read to me, I could definitely see myself requesting this book over and over again.

Even though this book is targeted towards younger children, I think adults will enjoy it equally. As Snow White caters to the dwarfs needs, I couldn’t help but recall my babysitting days, and the likeness was so funny to me. The dwarfs are a handful, and for someone who couldn’t quite always relate to the original Snow White, I sure as heck related to this one.

Verdict: With a hilarious new twist on a classic tale, Snow White and the 77 Dwarfs is an entertaining and fun read for the whole family. I’d highly recommend checking it out!

Read if: You’re a fan of Snow White, enjoy reading re-imagined tales, want to tickle your funny bone.

Do you think you could handle 77 dwarfs?

2 thoughts on “Book Review | Snow White and the 77 Dwarfs by Davide Cali and Raphaelle Barbanègre

Leave a Reply

