My Week On Instagram #1

Bookstagram One More Page Sunny Reading

Hi everyone! Happy Sunday!

I’ve been wanting to do a kind of weekly round-up type post for a while but it took me a while to figure out how I wanted to do it. A few weeks ago I came up with the idea of talking about my week via the photos I share on Instagram (one of my favourite social media platforms), so I’ve decided to give it a shot (heh heh)! For the sake of this project, my weeks will start on Monday and end on Sunday.

I didn’t post too much on Instagram this week, but the things I did post make me so happy. The photo above was taken on my way to see Kazuo Ishiguro (!) at the Toronto Public Library. The sun’s rays were hitting my book in such a perfect way; it seems like spring has finally sprung! As a Vancouverite-turned-Torontonian, I can’t tell you how relieving it is to see the end of winter. It’s such a brutal season on the East coast!

I came home to some amazing bookmail this week. The ladies at Random House Canada were raving about Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon at their Blogger’s Conference last month and I was thrilled to see it in my mailbox (thank you!). I read it in a few sittings and loved it. It’s a young adult novel about a girl who is allergic to the outside (she hasn’t left the house in 17 years) who falls in love with the boy next door. She finds it harder and harder to be content with her sterile world but knows that leaving the house is probably going to kill her. This was a fast read for me (I couldn’t put it down) and I loved that 1. it features a protagonist who is half African half Asian (yay diversity) and 2. that the illustrations throughout the book were done by Nicola Yoon’s husband, David Yoon. I love the idea of a husband-wife collaboration so much!

Tonight I spent a great day leafing through Curtis Stone’s Good Food, Good Life cookbook, going to the market to get fresh ingredients, and playing around in my kitchen. This cookbook is a bit intermediate for a cooking amateur like me, but I was able to successfully make his Spaghettini with Lemon and Ricotta as well as the Quick-Braised Spring Vegetables. My photo doesn’t do them justice; they were delicious! I’m glad that I have this cookbook because I think it’s going to push me to be a bit more adventurous in the kitchen; I’m prone to recycling the same dishes again and again.

That’s it for my week on Instagram! I can’t wait to share more next week. Did you have a good week/weekend? What are you reading now?

9 thoughts on “My Week On Instagram #1

  1. cubbieblue26 says:

    This is such an awesome new feature! I always love your Instagram photos, and this is such a clever way to sum up your week! Love it!!!!!

  2. The Paperback Princess says:

    I love this idea! I was really intrigued by your Curtis Stone photo actually. Maybe it’s time that I asked for a cookbook when it shows up on a list so that I can get to cooking more often. It’s something I’m TERRIBLE at but I want to be better. My husband is a lot better at it so it’s easy to just let him do the cooking but that seems unfair.
    Happy Spring! Glad you survived. You know the cherry blossoms have been out here for WEEKS? 😛

    • Karen @ One More Page... says:

      I am SO bad at cooking. I did think the Curtis Stone was a little advanced for me (plus, I don’t have fancy kitchen gear like a grill plate or even a barbeque…). It was fun to push myself out of my comfort zone though! I heard about your amazing spring-like winter. SO JEALOUS. My friend sent me a pic from Wreck Beach in February I want to say, where she was eating her lunch. Ughhhhhhhh! (I miss the West Coast so much.)

      • The Paperback Princess says:

        Oh I hate when there are lots of fancy tools you need. Always puts me off because I’m hopeless in the kitchen. I can bake ok, but cooking is beyond me.
        Not gonna lie, February was spectacular. March has been alright but yesterday there was a massive monsoon. Hail too. Feel a little better?

Leave a Reply

