Celebrating International Women’s Day 2015

International Womens Day 2015 Books

Happy International Women’s Day! Every year on March 8th, International Women’s Day celebrates women’s achievements while advocating gender equality. I think days like these are so wonderful because while we have made great progress when it comes to gender equality, there is still so much to be done. (And I’m still in shock when people tell me that gender inequality doesn’t exist…)

So, in honour of International Women’s Day today, I’ve chosen some of my recent favourite reads to celebrate! These in some way or another have touched me and inspired me. I realize as I’m typing this now that I should have included Roxane Gay’s Bad Feminist, so let’s pretend that her book is pictured.

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

The first thing I loved about this book was its packaging. It’s so small and compact that it would be perfect as a small gift (and it totally should be given away as gifts). I also love that it’s so cheerful and bold with its colour choice. It really demands attention, and for a rightful reason. On to the content: this is actually an adapted essay by Adichie, who originally presented it as a TEDx talk. Adichie shares personal anecdotes and defines what feminism means to her. She doesn’t shame anyone for not recognizing gender issues; she merely explains (very eloquently) how they exist and why we should be paying more attention. One of my favourite passages:

“The problem with gender is that it prescribes how we should be rather than recognizing how we are. Imagine how much happier we would be, how much freer to be our true individual selves, if we didn’t have the weight of gender expectations.” (pg 34.)

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

There is a reason why The Handmaid’s Tale is hailed as a classic. This haunting dystopian novel shows us a world where there is no freedom – even those in the ruling class are required to follow strictly defined roles. Handmaids are chosen to be reproductive machines, while Wives are simply housewife figureheads. Commanders are supposed to have relationships with their Wives but mere relations with the Handmaids. This is a society that is so constricted by their prescribed gender norms that hardly anyone is happy. If you haven’t read this yet, I’d strongly recommend it.

Hausfrau by Jill Alexander Essbaum

This is an upcoming title from Random House but I loved it so much that I thought I’d give it a shout out here. The story follows Anna, an American expatriate living in Switzerland with her banker husband and three children. As the novel’s title suggests, Anna is a housewife. She is completely dependent on her husband and his family. She doesn’t know how to drive, and thus relies on trains or someone to drive her when she needs to go anywhere; she has limited grasp on German (and even more limited handle on Schwiizerdutsch), requiring her husband to help her with paperwork; she doesn’t even own a bank account. That she is a housewife almost defines her, except for her secret life away from her family. I highly enjoyed getting to know Anna – not as a housewife but as a deep, complex person – and I can’t wait to chat about it more when it officially comes out.

Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham

Moving away from fiction, I wanted to feature two memoirs that I have loved recently, the first one being Not That Kind of Girl. It is no secret that I admire Dunham. She is not afraid to be different – in fact, she flaunts it – and she continues the trend of letting us in on her thoughts and feelings in her memoir. She doesn’t claim to know everything, yet she offers sound advice from time to time. Something that has stuck with me:

“Here’s who it’s not okay to share a bed with: Anyone who makes you feel like you’re invading their space. Anyone who tells you that they “just can’t be alone right now.” Anyone who doesn’t make you feel like sharing a bed is the coziest and most sensual activity they could possibly be undertaking. Now, look over at the person beside you. Do they meet these criteria? If not, remove them or remove yourself. You’re better off alone.” (pg. 20.)

Yes Please by Amy Poehler

Like Dunham, Amy Poehler is another public figure I adore. I love that she is so committed to promoting rising female talent (Broad City, Upright Citizens Brigade, Smart Girls at the Party, anyone?). The fact that she has such a strong friendship with another female – Tina Fey – just makes me so happy. To me, Poehler exemplifies the fact that you don’t have to step over everyone’s toes to get to the top. Why not do it together and show that successful women are not exceptions to a rule? There were so many wonderful bits in Yes Please that I shared my favourites in this post. The “currency” tip is my absolute favourite.

So there you have it! If you’re looking for something new and inspiring to read this International Women’s Day, I hope my list proves to be as thought-provoking for you as it was for me.

Are you reading any female-centered literature this International Women’s Day? Do you have any book recommendations for me? (I need to find my copy of bell hooks’ Feminism: From Margin to Center…)

15 thoughts on “Celebrating International Women’s Day 2015

  1. Naomi says:

    Great idea for a post, Karen! For some reason, I never know about these days until they are right on top of me, so I am never ready. I enjoy reading everyone’s else’s posts for them, though! Hausfrau is a good example of how many women are still dependent on men for so many things, and find it hard to break away.

    • Karen @ One More Page... says:

      Totally. I feel like Anna is in such a vulnerable position and her husband isn’t always the most supportive emotionally. Did you end up enjoying the novel? I know you said you’re finding it hard to write about.

      • Naomi says:

        Yes! I definitely liked it. It wasn’t quite what I expected, and I’m trying to figure out why. And, it left me with questions that I can’t really write about without spoilers.

  2. Cynthia says:

    Great choices for International Women’s Day. The only one I have read is The Handmaid’s Tale. It is one of my favorite books ever! I just read a book that was kind of similar, but even more disturbing and brilliant. It is called Only Ever Yours. Seriously, check it out because it was AMAZING!!

  3. The Paperback Princess says:

    I did not prepare anything for today either Naomi, and I totally knew it was coming up! I love International Women’s Day because we all have an excuse to celebrate wonderful, brilliant, funny, fabulous women. Just a shame that we need an excuse because I’m pretty sure women are wonderful, brilliant, funny and fabulous 365 days a year.

  4. Shaina says:

    We Should All Be Feminists is on my Kindle now! It’s so tiny, I bet I could read it in one sitting. 🙂

    I love that you mention Poehler and Fey’s friendship—I want to make an effort to read more broadly about female friendships. I tend to have more male than female friends, and I think it is unfortunately in part due to the mentality that we ladies are all “competing” with each other. I need to quash that!

    I’ve heard a couple of mixed things about Hausfrau, but I may end up checking it out anyway.

    And oh, that Dunham quotation. So, so true.

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

