One More Page Turns One Year Old!

Karen One More Page Blog

I can’t believe I’m typing this but my little blog One More Page turns one year old today! Writing that makes me feel so proud and happy. I can’t believe it’s already been a year, but at the same time, I can honestly say it feels like it’s been longer. I’ve met so many amazing bloggers and readers and have read the most I think I’ve ever read in a year (83 books)!

I’ve already written a post highlighting how thankful I am for the blogging and online reading community as well as some books that have shaped my worldview, so I thought I would take some time to reflect on the past year!

My first post: “January 2014

A bit underwhelming, but my first post was a recap of my January 2014 reading – even though it was already mid-February. Better late than never, right? I really wanted to have a full 12 months’ worth of monthly summaries, so I chose to post that as my introduction to book blogging.

My first book review: The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

I said it then and I’ll say it now: I can’t believe it took me so long to read that book. It is amazing. Book aside, I think it’s interesting to see how my reviewing has changed in a year. I’m still using a similar format, but my “verdict” sections have become much more detailed. Nice!

The first book I received for review: The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin

I’m so thankful for all of the publishers I have worked with in the past year, but I will always have a soft spot for Penguin Canada and thank them for their vote of confidence in my writing/blog in April. The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry was a heart-warming read that involves a crotchety bookstore owner and a surprise package that arrives at his doorstep one day.

My first author event and giveaway: Meeting Lissa Price, Author of Starters and Enders

Meeting Lissa Price was amazing (and nerve wracking) but also so much fun! It was the first time I met other book bloggers in “real life,” too. Thank you so much Random House Canada for all of the wonderful opportunities over the past year. It is always such an honour to be invited to events!

My highest viewed post: “Not That Kind of Girl: A Night with Lena Dunham (Giveaway)

I guess it makes sense that my most-viewed post would be a giveaway post but I’m glad it’s this one. I am a huge admirer of Lena Dunham and I loved being able to give a signed copy of Not That Kind of Girl away!

My proudest moment: Being featured on Canada Writes’ “Canada Blogs” section!

There have been so many amazing moments this past year it was hard to choose one, but I still have to pinch myself when I think about this feature.

Thank you so much for following me on this blog journey (and letting me indulge with this post). It has truly been an eye-opening and FUN year of blogging and I couldn’t be more grateful for all of the opportunities and friends I’ve met. Ahhhh! Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to eat a cupcake in celebration. xoxoxooxox

Are you a blogger? When is YOUR blogiversary?

30 thoughts on “One More Page Turns One Year Old!

  1. Cynthia says:

    Happy blogoversary! Mine will not be a year old until this November. I am still a newbie. 🙂 I agree that The Handmaid’s Tale is amazing!! I read it for the first time last year and really can’t believe it took me so long.

    • Karen @ One More Page... says:

      Thank you! I think November will come sooner than you know it, then I’ll be wishing YOU a happy blogiversary 😉 I now truly understand why The Handmaid’s Tale is on so many high school reading lists. The ending is SO haunting.

  2. The Paperback Princess says:

    I can’t believe it’s only been a year! When I first found your blog, it already seemed very well established! You’ve had an amazing year blogging and you’re always one of my favourite blogs to visit! Looking forward to many more milestones!

  3. Naomi says:

    I feel the same way as Eva – you’ve been blogging up a storm this year! I like that you linked to your first or best moments of your blog. I like to read people’s first posts – I just remember being so nervous about mine. Yours was great!

Leave a Reply

