Reflections and 2015 New Year’s Resolutions

2015 Reading Bookish New Year Resolutions

Happy new year’s eve everyone! As the year comes to a close, I’ve been feeling the need to reflect on 2014 and make new resolutions for the coming year. Yes, I am definitely the type of gal who makes resolutions every year.

This year has been an incredibly fulfilling year for me. I finally feel like I can call Toronto my home (rather than feel like a tourist), and this blog has had a lot to do with that. I’ve met so many wonderful people, attended some incredible events (thank you for all of the opportunities!), and, of course, read some life-changing books. I couldn’t be more thankful for this little space on the internet.

But while I feel proud of what this blog has accomplished over the months, I’m even more excited to continue to improve on it in the new year. So, without further ado, here are my blogging and reading resolutions for 2015:

10. Be more organized and get better at scheduling posts.

I’ve always admired those who have enough foresight and will power to plan their posts ahead of time (instead of writing it and posting it immediately after). Next year, I hope to be a better planner!

9. Don’t worry about surpassing this year’s reading goal.

Unless I finish a book tonight, my final reading tally for this year will be 83 books. Even though this is my first year keeping track of my books read, I know for a fact that this is the highest it has ever been for me. I tend to be pretty competitive with myself, so I’m resolving to learn to relax and go with the flow.

8. Be more creative with my photos and experiment with graphics.

I have always loved photography and I am happy with my photos on this blog most of the time, but I really want to push my boundaries next year and be more creative!

7. Don’t rush through books.

This is kind of tied to #9 and I’ve commented on this before in a previous Monday Musings post. I want to make sure that my quick reading pace doesn’t sacrifice my enjoyment of a text. In 2015, I’m going to try to be more aware of when I’m skimming instead of reading.

6. Make more time to visit and comment on other blogs.

I’ve made so many great blogger friends this year, I want to dedicate some time each week (hopefully every day) to read what others are posting and contribute to the discussion! I will not comment just to comment, but I sincerely appreciate every comment I receive on my blog and I want to pay it forward!

5. Read at least 5 books that are already on my shelves.

This is every bookworm’s problem, isn’t it? We accumulate books at a faster pace than we can read them. (Well, that’s the case for me, anyway!) I’m pledging to read at least 5 books that I have already purchased.

4. Be more diligent about cross-posting.

Sometimes I am forgetful and don’t do this! I hope to be more diligent next year.

3. Participate in more readathons and book events.

I always have a great time chatting with fellow readers during these events, so why not make an effort to do it more?

2. Keep a physical record of what I read.

While I’ve been loving tracking my reading on Goodreads and HarperCollins Canada’s 50 Book Pledge, I would like to have a notebook so I can keep forever and ever. (I have already bought the notebook – woohoo!)

1. Keep having fun.

I really can’t stress enough how wonderful it has been writing this blog and meeting other readers and bloggers. You have been a huge (positive) part of my year and I am so, so thankful. I am so excited to continue on this bookish journey with you all. I’m sure it will be filled with a lot of fun and happiness!

I wish you all the happiest new year’s eve and here’s to an even better 2015! xoxo

Did you set any resolutions this year?

23 thoughts on “Reflections and 2015 New Year’s Resolutions

  1. rivercityreading says:

    Sounds like you have some great goals! I think it’s important to not feel like you have to surpass last year’s reading number, since eventually we all have to hit a peak. I read less last year than the year before, but it still feels okay…I think we all just have to be realistic (and know that we’re still reading a ton of books!).

    • Karen @ One More Page... says:

      Yes! I’m going to try really hard to stay calm this year when it comes to reading goals. I tend to be pretty competitive with myself so it’ll be something I’ll have to remind myself to do. You’re right though – whether or not I surpass last year’s goal, that’s still a lot of books read!

  2. Naomi says:

    I always think your photos are so nice! I would like to make mine more interesting if I can find the extra time. And, reading the books on my shelves is another good one for me. Right now, though, I would just like enough time to write a post! Ha!

  3. The Paperback Princess says:

    I almost never make resolutions. But I like yours!

    83 books is a fantastic total! The year after I read 82 books I read 115. Just sayin’
    But I know what you mean about the speed reading. I am very aware of the fact that I do this. This week alone I’ve blitzed through 5 books and sometimes I wonder if it wouldn’t be better to slow down just a little. I think my husband was a little disappointed that I got through one of the books he got me (Serving Victoria) in little more than a day.

    I’m excited for you to keep a physical record of what you read! That’s going to be SO satisfying.

    • Karen @ One More Page... says:

      Haha I can only hope to read 115 books in a year! 5 books in a week is so impressive. I read the book my boyfriend got me for christmas in 2 days which he says didn’t disappoint him. (I think it was more a positive affirmation that he chose a great book!) I’ve already logged 3 books in my physical reading journal! Feeling good 😉

  4. Ruby @ Feed Me Books Now says:

    These are brilliant resolutions! I mostly avoid making my own resolutions, but this year I’m also trying to be more organised with things like scheduling posts. I’m usually awful at this! Before the last week of 2014, I’d never scheduled a post in two years of blogging haha! 🙂

    Good luck with all of these!

  5. Lisa says:

    I like the goals you have set for yourself. I’m hoping to experiment more with graphics myself as this is an area I have done very little in. Your #1 goal hit home though – as a new blogger, I want to make sure that I continue to do what I love (reading and writing) and not get lost in any of the hoopla around blogging! I love your blog and I love what you do with it so keep up the good work!!!!

Leave a Reply

