October 2014

October 2014

Books read:

*The Reluctant Journal of Henry K. Larsen by Susin Nielsen
*Word Nerd by Susin Nielsen
*Dear George Clooney, Please Marry My Mom by Susin Nielsen
*We Are All Made of Molecules by Susin Nielsen
*Bye-Bye, Evil Eye by Deborah Kerbel
*Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham (Enter to win a signed copy here)
*The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy by Rachel Joyce
*The Children Act by Ian McEwan
*The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion
*Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult
*Choose Your Own Autobiography by Neil Patrick Harris

Hello again, everyone! Can you believe it’s already November 1st? This year is seriously flying by. I have to apologize again for the fact that I’m a little behind on my reviewing, but I’m really hoping to catch up soon. I particularly can’t wait to share my love for Susin Nielsen and Neil Patrick Harris’ autobiography with you all; I went into them with low expectations and they completely blew me away. Though, overall I’d have to say this was a great reading month. (The strength of the books I read may explain why I was able to read 11 books in October!)

This month was a busy one. I turned 24 this past Monday, and I’ve got to say: I have a lot to be thankful for. I’ve already expressed my love for blogging and the bookish community, but I really can’t stress it enough. This past year has been so much more fulfilling and meaningful thanks to this small corner of the internet. For fear of being repetitive I’ll leave it at that, but please know that I’m grateful to all of you who read my blog (and those who don’t, too).

I know I don’t talk about music that often on my blog, but I’ve been obsessed with Taylor Swift’s new album, 1989, since it released on my birthday (!!) and I thought that deserved a mention. I haven’t always been a huge Taylor Swift fan, but this album is really winning me over. (So catchy! So danceable! So fun!)

How was your October? Did you do anything special for Halloween? Did you read any scary books? (I’m too much of a scaredy cat to read anything too spooky…) What are you reading now?

15 thoughts on “October 2014

  1. Amy Sachs says:

    How in the world do you manage 11 books in a month! I always thought I read fast but not that quick! I’m so excited for the Neil Patrick Harris book, I just got it! And I seriously love 1989 too, like way more than I thought possible.

    • kmn04books says:

      Haha! To be fair, some of the books I read this month were pretty short! I hope you love the Neil Patrick Harris book; I had a smile on my face the whole time I was reading it! I’m obsessed with 1989 and I didn’t even think I was that big of a Taylor Swift fan…

  2. Angélique says:

    Latish Happy Birthday! Didn’t read anything spooky for Halloween even though I thought about it… I had just finished “Room” by Emma Donoghue the day before and it was terrifying enough, so I read something light instead!

    • kmn04books says:

      Thank you, Angelique! Oooh, I agree that Room is a terrifying one – even more so because it’s so real. I can’t even imagine being in the characters’ positions. A light read sounds great after that!

    • kmn04books says:

      Thanks, Naomi! I am completely a Susin Nielsen fan after reading her books this month. She writes middle grade/young adult but I was able to relate to her characters so deeply that it left me in tears a couple of times. (And we all know how much I love crying!) I also really enjoyed Lena Dunham + Neil Patrick Harris’ memoirs; I love them both!

  3. Leah says:

    Wow, you got through a lot of books this month! I’m really looking forward to your review of Not That Kind of Girl.

    And happy birthday, if I didn’t say it yet!

    • kmn04books says:

      Thanks, Leah!! I’m hoping to catch up on my reviews soon – fingers crossed! I’m going to have to re-read Not That Kind of Girl, I think, because I read it too quickly the first time (such a bad habit).

  4. The Paperback Princess says:

    I’m a little sad that October is over to be honest. It was the month I got married and that will never come around again. Managed to read 9 books though. And like you, I’m totally behind on reviews. Ugh. I’m so with you on 1989. So great. OMG I just realized you were born in 1990 weren’t you? I don’t know how to handle this.

    Looking forward to more reviews – I’m glad you had a great birthday!

    • kmn04books says:

      Aw, October will forever be a special month for you! I love that. It’s so impressive that you managed to read 9 books with all of that going on! Did you have any favourites? Hahaha, yeah, I’m a ’90s kid, though apparently I know next to nothing about the decade as I failed miserably in 90s trivia a few weeks ago…

Leave a Reply

