September 2014

Karen Ma Monthly Summary September 2014 One More Page

Books read:

*Stone Mattress by Margaret Atwood (Review)
*Petty Theft by Pascal Girard
*The World Before Us by Aislinn Hunter (Review)
*The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro (Discussion Part 1, Part 2, Part 3+4)
*Jane, the Fox, & Me by Fanny Britt, illustrated by Isabelle Arsenault (Review)

Hello everyone! How was your September?

I spent a lot of my month trying to get over my book blogging/reading slump. I decided to let myself take my time with the books that I was reading instead of ploughing through books like I normally do (albeit not in a forced way). I guess we do have to take it easy from time to time!

That being said, I really enjoyed what I read this month. The standouts for me were The World Before Us by Aislinn Hunter and Jane, the Fox, and Me by Fanny Britt and Isabelle Arsenault. They both had exceptional writing and really pulled me into their stories. Five stars for both!

At the end of September, I was shocked to find an email from Canada Writes (part of CBC Books) in my mailbox. They have a feature called Canadian Blogs and wanted to include me! I was completely floored and so thankful for the opportunity. The interview came out on October 1st, which technically isn’t September, but I’ve decided to mention it here anyway. The feedback has been very positive and I’m so grateful to have met so many like-minded friends here on the internet. (Thank you all!!) šŸ™‚

cbc homepage oct 1 2014

Click here to read the article!

I feel like I’m slowly getting my blogging groove back now, so I’m excited for what October holds! This month is my birthday month (!!!) and also one of the most beautiful times of the year, so I’m really, really looking forward to it.

How was your September? Did you have any standout reads? Are you looking forward to October? What are you reading?

19 thoughts on “September 2014

  1. Catherine says:

    I got a fair amount of reading done but it was largely meh. So, not a slump, but feeling like I’m ready to be dazzled. I’m taking a reviewing break and reading Ken Follett’s Edge of Eternity- 1,100 pages! I don’t know how I’d even review because there are 4 pages of genealogies in the front so I’m happy I’m reading it purely for pleasure.

      • Catherine says:

        I’m enjoying it because it is like a history lesson on a number of topics I didn’t know much about AND it’s fiction. It moves quickly as well- I’m already halfway through.

        Don’t be intimidated- the first book was shorter and was great! It’s called The Fall of Giants and you could definitely get it at the library.

  2. Shery Alexander Heinis says:

    Hi Karen – I actually came across the CBC article just yesterday, when I was browsing the site, as I do from time to time. After readding it and finding out you were also on WP, I decided tha I’d follow you. I love reading and anything book related, and I write creatively (poetry, short stories, essays, etc.). Looking forward to checking out more of your posts! Oh, and by the way, my birthday is also this month (best month and season of the year!)

    • kmn04books says:

      Hi Shery! Thank you for taking the time to read my blog and comment šŸ™‚ That’s awesome that you write creatively! That’s definitely an area where I do not excel. I took a look at your blog as well; it looks wonderful! I read a bit of Under the Golden Apple Tree and it sounds great. I’ll have to find part one and start reading. Also, happy birthday month! When’s your birthday? Mine’s the 27th šŸ™‚

      • Shery Alexander Heinis says:

        Hell Karen – Thanks for taking a look at my blog! I wrote these stories about 6 years ago, and am just now sharing them. I write mostly poetry for now. When you have time, perhaps you can read a couple of poems. My birthday is one week before yours (Oct. 21)

  3. Naomi says:

    Great interview in Canada Writes, Karen! That is awesome! I didn’t even know the Canadian Blog section existed, but now that I do I think I will check it out and see who else has been featured. Happy October reading and early birthday!

  4. Alive says:

    Glad taking some time out from reading has rejuvenated you a bit. I think a break from books can sometimes be a good thing. By the end of September I managed to crawl out of my slump with More Fool Me, Stephen Fry’s third memoir, since then I’ve read about four books so far in October, which is just under what I’ve been averaging the last few months. No idea if it will continue in this vain, but it’s promising.

Leave a Reply

