August 2014

August Wrap Up One More Page Book Blog

Books read:

*Sweetland by Michael Crummey (Review)
*The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell (Review)
*The Death of Us by Alice Kuipers (Review to come)
*A Girl is a Half-formed Thing by Eimear McBride (Review to come)
*Bad Feminist by Roxane Gay (Review to come)
*Based on a True Story by Elizabeth Renzetti (Mentioned here)
*Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki Murakami (Review)
*Mãn by Kim Thúy (ebook version pictured) (Review)

Well, summer has come and gone. Now that I’m not a student these summer months are starting to feel less significant than they were before, especially with the weather that we’ve had here in Toronto. But fall still has its allure, with its colder weather, warm drinks, and colourful leaves. Fall feels less “go go go” and more calm, so I’m hoping that means I’ll get to read a lot of great books in the coming months!

When I initially sat down to write this post, I lamented the fact that I was in kind of a blogging slump and that made me feel unproductive and a little unaccomplished this month. However, I just looked back on the posts that I wrote and realized this was actually quite a fruitful and busy month! The first big thing was that I conducted my first ever author interview! I was invited by Random House Canada to interview Romain Puertolas, author of The Extraordinary Journey of the Fakir Who Got Trapped in an Ikea Wardrobe. I was sooo nervous beforehand but the actual interview was a lot of fun. Romain was so easy to talk to and I learned a lot about his writing process and his experience as a police inspector at the French border. You can read the full interview here. Another wonderful thing that happened this month was the Book Blogger Brunch that I hosted with ebookclassics! We were joined by Carolyn and Cindy from House of Anansi we had a wonderful time chatting about books that made us cry, bad dates, and Step Up. It was so nice to meet everyone in person and I can’t wait to do it again! The last event-type thing I did this month was participate in Bout of Books for the first time. I had a great time but I wish I could have been more active online that week. I’m looking forward to participating again 🙂

Life-wise I’ve settled into quite a routine since moving to Toronto last year. Although I did celebrate my boyfriend’s birthday with a rooftop dinner at The Works, so that was a special thing that happened this month!

How was your month? Did you find any new favourite books? I’m definitely going to be re-reading quite a few of the books that I read this month, so I’ll take that to say that my August was a pretty good one.

11 thoughts on “August 2014

  1. Naomi says:

    I’m happy to hear that the book blogger lunch went well! And, very curious to hear what you thought of A Girl is a Half Formed Thing. Looks like a great bunch of books this month!

    • kmn04books says:

      Thank you! The lunch was a lot of fun. I wish an internet brunch were a thing – then everyone from all around the world could come 😛

      A Girl is a Half-formed Thing was a very intense read. I think it would definitely be a great book club book as I think you’ll either love it or hate it. I’ll hopefully be posting the review this week, so stay tuned!

  2. Charleen says:

    Sometimes slumps have more to do with how we feel about getting things done than how many things are actually getting done. Here’s hoping you bust out of it, even if it is all in your head.

Leave a Reply

