Monday Musings | Favourite Authors

Monthly Summary July 2014

When I was younger, if I was ever asked “Who’s your favourite author?” I would have absolutely no problem listing a few favourites: Gordon Korman, Andrew Clements, J.K. Rowling (obviously), but nowadays I think I would have a harder time answering that question.

It’s not that I don’t admire many authors, but sometimes I do find it difficult to choose a favourite. Can debut authors become favourite authors? What if you loved one book by one author, but didn’t like their other books? Can they still count as favourites? Or maybe “favourite author” means that you are willing to give their new book a chance whether or not you enjoyed their previous book.

Authors I would consider as favourites:

  • Emma Healey, because I loved the way she wrote her debut novel Elizabeth is Missing and will happily read her next book.
  • Radhika Sanghani, because she has an awesome twitter page and wrote the hilarious and necessary Virgin.
  • Sophie Kinsella, because even though her fiction isn’t for everyone, reading her books is always a fun experience and I will give anything she writes a try, even if they don’t end up being my favourites.
  • Oscar Wilde, because The Picture of Dorian Gray reminded me of how much I love reading and English literature and I would have loved to meet him in real life.
  • David Foster Wallace, because I read a few of his short story collections at a very specific time in my life and I will always look back on them fondly.
  • Gordon Korman, Andrew Clements, and J.K. Rowling, because childhood favourites stay with you all your life.

What do you think? How do you figure out whether someone is your favourite author or not? Do you have a favourite author? (And if so, who is it?)

26 thoughts on “Monday Musings | Favourite Authors

  1. Naomi says:

    I have a hard time listing a favourite anything. There are just too many good books and good authors. However, there are a few authors that I have read just about all of their novels, and feel confident I will like almost anything they write. I do wonder whether a new author is capable of being a favourite. Maybe a potential favourite, pending their second book?

    I really have to read The Picture of Dorian Gray.

    • kmn04books says:

      Yes! I really enjoyed The Picture of Dorian Gray. It was book that started a lot of things for me: my decision to be an English major, my love for Victorian literature, obsession with Oscar Wilde… The plus side? It’s not too long so you could totally read it in a few days! (Basically – pleeease read it and love it! Hehe.)

  2. Lily says:

    This is actually really funny, I was just about to finish and publish a post I’ve been working on about some of my personal favorite authors! 🙂

    Anyway, I think for me personally, a favorite author is someone whose books I know I will love, even when I don’t think they sounds like something I’d like, or whose books speak to me on a personal level, and in most cases, if an author is my favorite, it means I’ve read all or most of their books.

    I don’t even know if any of that makes sense… It’s kind of hard for me to explain why certain authors are ‘favorites’ and others just aren’t.

    Lovely post!

    • kmn04books says:

      Thanks, Lily! That makes a lot of sense. I definitely agree with you that how an author’s work makes me feel greatly affects how much I enjoy the novel/author. Thanks for commenting 😀

  3. cricketmuse says:

    Harper Lee only wrote one book–yet, what an impact! Yes, even one book can create favorite book status. It’s how the writing impacts you as a reader. I’ve read three of Ishiguro’s novels yet only like Remains of the Day; nevertheless, his writing is stunning. I like Charles Dickens and Jane Austen more for their embodiment and contribution to literature than their actual writing. Impact. I think it’s a key decisive.

  4. ryandejonghe says:

    Came here after seeing your picture with ALL THE LIGHT WE CANNOT SEE in it. Doerr was off my radar before, but now he’s one of my favorite authors. Like that, anything that touches me will definitely be added to my favorite authors’ list.

    • kmn04books says:

      I’ve only read All The Light We Cannot See but, man, if that’s how all of his works are written, sign me up. I loved that novel. It was definitely touching – he just writes relationships so well! I’m definitely with you on that – if an author’s work resonates with me, chances are I’ll love them and/or consider them a favourite. Thanks for your comment!

  5. The Paperback Princess says:

    Excellent question! I think for me, a favourite is someone who’s work I will always read. Sophie Kinsella, JK Rowling, Jane Austen, Maeve Binchy, Agatha Christie, Camilla Lackberg and Marian Keyes all fall into this category for me. Apparently if you are male, you can’t be my favourite…

    • kmn04books says:

      Haha! I felt that way when I started listing my favourite authors! I definitely read more women writers than male. I wonder why that is? (So happy to hear you love Sophie Kinsella too! Her books always put a smile on my face.)

  6. Nish says:

    It’s hard to have a favorite author. There are a few but mostly I’ve read everything by them, and it’s time to look out for more authors that could potentially become favorites.

  7. Denise says:

    Not my favourite authors, but I like Charlotte Mendelson because of her Twitter page. Also AL Kennedy. She is very funny on TV and Twitter, not so much like her fiction at all! But for me, knowing more about an author and liking it is as important as their books.

    • kmn04books says:

      I don’t always know too much about authors’ lives, but that makes sense to me! Knowing more about someone can definitely make or break my future enjoyment of their books. If I have a lot in common with an author, I’m more likely to pick up their work (and like it)!

  8. Athira says:

    I don’t know if I have any favorite authors. I rarely go back and read other books from authors I’ve enjoyed, though I tell myself I should. I do like Ann Patchett and Sophie Kinsella though.

  9. ebookclassics says:

    Stephen King is probably the author I’ve read the most and I used to say he was my favourite author, but I’ve been so dissatisfied with some of his books in the past to put him right at the top. I don’t think I’ve read enough to have a list of favourite authors, but I really like Jojo Moyes right now.

  10. tanya (52 books or bust) says:

    I don’t think who is you favorite writer is even a fair question! There are so many and they change depending on my mood. Some like Gordon Korman I love for nostalgic reasons, others like Atwood I like just because they are so great at some many different literary forms, and others like Anthony Doerr I’ve only just discovered. For me, a better question is Who is your favorite writer this week. Then I might be able to come up with an answer!

  11. Leah says:

    Great topic! I think I consider my favorite authors to be ones I’ve read multiple books by and really loved — like Haruki Murakami, Kurt Vonnegut, Meg Wolitzer, and JK Rowling. When it comes to debut authors, a first novel can be one of my favorite books, but I probably wouldn’t consider the author to be one of my favorite authors until he/she has a few more books out that I’ve loved.

  12. annabelsmith says:

    For me, a favourite author is one who has a few books under their belt and I’ve enjoyed all or most of them. For me, right now, those authors are Ann Patchett, Jennifer Egan, Margaret Atwood. I think favourite authors can change too though. For a few years I cited Paul Auster as a favourite and read everything he had written, but his recent books have been really disappointing and I no longer consider him a favourite, more just a phase I went through. Whereas Patchett’s book I re-read and always love.

  13. Ruby @ Feed Me Books Now says:

    Ahh I haven’t been on your blog on so long (I’ve been on holiday) yet within seconds I’ve remembered how much I LOVE it! 🙂

    When it comes to favourite authors, I generally look beyond just their novels but at them as a person too. For instance, my all-time favourite author is George Orwell, not only because I love his fiction but because he fascinates me as a person. Having read his essays (notably “Why I Write”) and countless biographies about him, I’ve got such a feel for what he tries to get across in his work and why he chose literature as a route for expressing his beliefs. Another one of my favourite authors is Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. She’s such an inspiration. I love the themes she tries to tackle and the way she talks about her books. She’s the kind of person I aspire to be. Of course, JKR is another favourite. I mean, she’s just wonderful.

    So I guess that’s how I distinguish between ‘favourite authors’ and authors I just really, really like.

    This is such an interesting discussion by the way (I’ve loved reading all the other comments!). 😀

    • kmn04books says:

      Aw you’re so sweet! I hope you had a great vacation!! I love the reasons you list for why your favourite authors are your favourite! I have actually been meaning to read Americanah as I’ve heard such great things about it! Thank you for commenting! I agree – they’ve all been so interesting to read and I’m so thankful that you all take the time to respond 🙂

Leave a Reply

