July 2014

Monthly Summary July 2014

Books read:

*Landline by Rainbow Rowell (Audiobook version) (Review here)
*Virgin by Radhika Sanghani
*Seconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley (Graphic novel)
*Shopaholic to the Stars by Sophie Kinsella
*The Extraordinary Journey of the Fakir Who Got Trapped in an Ikea Wardrobe by Romain Puertolas
*The Opening Sky by Joan Thomas
*Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson (Review here)
*The Table of Less Valued Knights by Marie Phillips
*All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
*The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer (Book club pick!)

I had another great reading month this month and I ended up reading 10 books! I’m a little behind in posting my reviews of them, but I’m hoping to get caught up soon. Some books that I’m especially excited to talk about are Seconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley, Shopaholic to the Stars (!!!) by Sophie Kinsella, The Extraordinary Journey of the Fakir Who Got Trapped in an Ikea Wardrobe by Romain Puertolas, Virgin by Radhika Sanghani, and The Table of Less Valued Knights by Marie Phillips. So…basically half the stack. Haha!

I didn’t attend as many book events this month as I did last month, but I did cross off quite a few items on my Bookish Summer Bucket List! I’m really pleased with my progress and I can’t wait to keep working at it! My favourite thing has got to be meeting Leah from Books Speak Volumes; she drove all the way from the States to meet me in Toronto! We had a great night talking about (and buying…) books! Another exciting thing that I did this month was attend Bryan Lee O’Malley’s book launch for Seconds. It was a really fun event at the Bloor Hot Docs Cinema that consisted of a reading and an interview/Q&A section that lasted for over an hour! It was a really fun time and it has definitely made me want to re-read the graphic novel again already. Don’t forget to check back for pictures – I’ll include it in my review 😉

One last small but exciting bookish thing I did this month was get my ticket to see David Mitchell (author of Cloud Atlas and the upcoming The Bone Clocks) at IFOA this fall! The Bone Clocks is my first David Mitchell read but I’m really loving it so I can’t wait to hear him read from it and give us some insights about it!

Overall, I had a really fruitful and fun month filled with bookish activities. I’m really enjoying my new weekend tradition of going to the library on Saturday and reading at the coffee shop for a few hours afterwards. It’s something that I do alone and it makes me feel so invigorated and happy afterwards.

Do you guys have any weekend traditions? How was your July (for reading or otherwise)?

21 thoughts on “July 2014

      • kmn04books says:

        Hehe The Interestings was definitely a solid read. I absolutely LOVED All the Light We Cannot See and The Table of Less Valued Knights. They’re quite different (One is historical fiction set in WWII with a more serious tone while the latter is a hilarious Arthurian tale about a rejected knight on a quest) but they’re equally amazing. I would highly recommend them!

  1. Charleen says:

    Yes, I love going to the library once a week. I prefer Sunday afternoons, but during the summer they’re closed so I have to go some other time. Sometimes I just do a quick in and out, but I love when I can just spend a few hours there reading.

  2. rivercityreading says:

    What a great month for you!! I’m so glad you were able to meet Leah (she’s wonderful) and I’m really looking forward to hearing what you thought about Virgin, it’s one that we heard a publisher talk about at BEA.

    • kmn04books says:

      I really liked Virgin! I was skeptical at first, but all my worries were dispelled when reading it. I just posted my review of it today if you’d like to check it out!

  3. tanya (52 books or bust) says:

    I’m reading Virgin right now and it’s making me laugh out loud. And I just finished All The Light We Cannot See. Watch for a raving review. I loved it. What did you think?
    And I’m just off to the library. Unfortunately, hours of reading solitude will not follow. I’m taking my daughter but we’ll still have fun pick and choosing books. I love the way she debates about what she will take home.

    • kmn04books says:

      That’s awesome. You’re raising a reader! I can’t wait to read your review of All The Light – I absolutely loved it as well. It was so non-judgmental and I think that can be rare sometimes when dealing with war. Virgin was such a great book! I read it in ebook format and now I’m really debating getting a physical copy. I have longer thoughts in my review that I just posted 😉

  4. friendlybookworm says:

    What a strong month it has been for you, 10 books?! That’s quite a feat!! I love how you are finding the time to go to attend book events. I think that is the next step for me, just trying to get more involved in the literary world, I just find it hard to find time with balancing a full-time job. Do you work at the moment?

    • kmn04books says:

      Thank you! Yes, I’m working full-time at the moment! Luckily my hours are pretty steady, so I can usually make any after-work events and I’ve lucked out a lot in terms of being able to attend weekday afternoon events! If you get the chance I’d definitely recommend going though; they’re so much fun and everyone is always so excited to be there!

      • kmn04books says:

        Haha I’ve just been really lucky with days off 🙂 I feel like I find most of the events through Twitter, or Indigo’s website (there must be an English equivalent – Waterstones, maybe?), or even through publishers’ Twitters. Sometimes I just google 🙂

  5. Naomi says:

    I’m late to the commenting, but what a great bunch of books! Can’t wait to hear about them. I am also quite behind in my reviews. Summer is proving a difficult time to get any typing done. Especially if I actually want to think at the same time. Ha! Oh well, they will eventually get done. I certainly don’t want to wish the summer away!

    • kmn04books says:

      I hear you! I’m definitely feeling a Summer slump. But you’re right – we should enjoy the nice(r) weather while it’s here! Before you know it it’ll be snowing again… (sob)

  6. Leah says:

    Looks like you had a great reading month! I loved The Interestings and All the Light We Cannot See, so I’m excited to see you reading them too!

    It was so nice to meet you!

Leave a Reply

