My Summer Bookish Bucket List Update!

My Summer Bookish Bucket List Update One More Page kmn04books

Source: Pinterest

Hi friends! How is your summer going? I can’t believe it’s almost the end of July! Unfortunately for me, the weather hasn’t been quite as hot as I would have liked it, but you know what? At least there’s no snow. Anyway, yesterday night I posted my review for Morgan Matson’s Since You’ve Been Gone and as I was thinking about Emily’s bucket list of sorts, I remembered that I had made myself a bucket list too! So I decided to see how many items I’ve managed to cross off my list and which ones I still have left to do!

Completed items:

#1. Find a Little Free Library and leave some books in it!

This one I’ll consider half done as I did find a Little Free Library (only a 10 minute walk from my house!) but I stumbled upon it at night and I didn’t have my books with me to donate! I’m definitely planning to go back and leave some books though! I already have the books picked out ๐Ÿ˜‰

#2. Attend some Luminato Literary events.

Waiting for the #ReadWomen2014 event to start at the @torontolibrary! #excited #Luminato #literaryevent

A post shared by Karen M. (@onemorepageblog) on

I ended up going to the two events that I had planned to go to and they were so much fun! The #ReadWomen2014 event was so inspiring and it was so great hearing the authors talk about their books and their experiences as women writers. The Literary Picnic was also great! The weather was perfect for it: the sun was shining and the temperature was juuuust right. There were a few different stages and it was so nice to walk around Trinity Bellwoods Park soaking up the literary atmosphere!

#3. Go to more IFOA events.

I did end up going to the IFOA event I planned to go to and belatedly realized that that was the last weekly reading of the season! I had a great time though as, for the first time, my boyfriend came with me! He usually can’t make it to the event because he doesn’t finish work on time, but that week worked out perfectly. It was so nice to share that experience with him as I talk about going ALL THE TIME and I wanted him to be able to see what it was all about. On our way out we got caught in a torrential downpour which was not fun at the time, but it made the whole night a pretty memorable experience overall.

#4. Meet more book bloggers and book lovers!

Had a great time meeting @onemorepageblog tonight! We had delicious food and bought some #books!

A post shared by Leah Mosher (@leah_bsv) on

I don’t think I’ll ever consider this item truly completed as there are so many fabulous bookish people to meet, but I did meet a new friend and that is Leah from Books Speak Volumes! After chatting online for a few months, Leah realized that although she lives in the States and I live in Canada, we don’t really live THAT far apart, so she drove up to Toronto so we could meet! I loved it! We had dinner at Fresh, a vegetarian restaurant, and then went book shopping! (Are you surprised about the second part though?) I had so much fun learning more about Leah and I really hope that we can meet again soon! The photo above is us at the bookstore, courtesy of Leah’s Instagram. I have no idea what’s up with my head… it looks lopsided! Haha.

#8. Attend my first book club meeting.

ย 

My book club had its first meeting last month and it was great! I love that it’s something that brings me and my friends together. Any excuse to hang out, right? Unfortunately they’re in Vancouver and I’m here, so we actually did “hang out” using Google ๐Ÿ˜‰

#9. Follow more book bloggers and book tubers.

Again, one of those items that can never be really and truly completed!

#10. Document it all!

I’m working on it ๐Ÿ˜‰

So there you have it! I’ve actually completed a lot more than I thought I had. I’m looking forward to crossing off more items! Do you have any bookish plans for the summer?

15 thoughts on “My Summer Bookish Bucket List Update!

  1. La La in the LiBrArY says:

    I love the free little libraries. I have none walkable, but you have inspired me to have my sister drive me to a couple soon. I have also wanted to do the random dropping of books in public places and going to the library and putting little note papers saying “you are awesome” in random books, or pretty book marks.

  2. Naomi says:

    I love the Little Free Library idea, but I still have yet to find one in my travels. They’re probably more common in the city. I’m more likely to see a box of old books with a ‘free’ sign stuck to it.

    It looks like you’re having a great summer! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. alenaslife says:

    I love that you and Leah met! Two of my favorite lady book bloggers getting together is priceless. I’ve discovered a couple Little Free Libraries and even contributed books to one. Also priceless.

    • kmn04books says:

      Thank you, Tanya! I’m sad that you won’t be visiting Toronto this summer. I do have the book vending machine on my mind though and I’m hoping to visit it by the end of this summer!

Leave a Reply

