Monday Musings | Blog Creativity

Pastel Book Covers for Spring One More Page Blog

Hello all! How’s your Monday going? I stayed up till 4am this morning reading The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer, so as you can probably guess, my morning wasn’t the best. BUT I just got home from reading in the park (currently reading All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr after hearing so many good things about it!) and I am feeling energized and ready for the rest of the week. 🙂

For today’s Monday Musing I want to talk about blog creativity. As we all know, there are hundreds, probably thousands, of book blogs out there. Something that I’ve been thinking about a lot lately is how do you stand out from the crowd? I mean, sure, I write this blog for myself because I love reading and sharing my love for the books I read, but ultimately, I do want to have readers to share these thoughts with. How do I create interesting content so that I’m not just “one of the other blogs”? So far I’m not sure if I have the answer to the question yet, but I think the Elizabeth is Missing Blog Search I did last month could be a start.

Here are examples of interesting and creative blog content that have caught my eye recently:

Cover Wars by 52 Books or Bust – This is a semi-regular feature that Tanya has and it’s all about comparing book covers! A lot of the time a book will have multiple covers, and this feature is a great way for us to compare the different versions and talk about which ones worked and which ones didn’t. As someone who has always been interested in that kind of thing, this feature became something that drew me back to Tanya’s blog again and again.

Richmond, Virginia in Five Books by River City Reading – This blog post was all about describing Shannon’s city, Richmond, Virginia, in five books. I absolutely loved this post because not only did I learn about some awesome books, I also got to know Richmond a little more! Such a great idea.

Six Degrees of Separation hosted by Annabel (who is linked) and Emma – I found out about this through The Steadfast Reader’s post and I thought that it was such a smart game! It was so fun seeing how The Goldfinch is related to Confessions of a Paris Party Girl in only 6 degrees of separation! It’s a connection that I never would have made if it weren’t for this meme. So cool!

Do you have any creative posts/features to share? Do you ever worry about keeping your blog fresh and creative? Are you more likely to read a blog that is constantly trying something new? I can’t wait to hear what you think! In the meantime, I’m back to brainstorming new ideas…

15 thoughts on “Monday Musings | Blog Creativity

  1. Ri says:

    I personally worry a lot about original content because that’s what makes you and your blog standout. I’m not always the most original/creative person though so that’s always a problem. :/

  2. rivercityreading says:

    Aw, thanks for sharing my link! I guess this is all about perspective, because one of my “Blogging Confessions” for Top Ten Tuesday tomorrow is that my content isn’t unique/doesn’t stand out 😉

  3. Amy Sachs says:

    I wonder the same thing about my blog. I love doing things like the top ten tuesday memes, but I wish I could come up with something of my own to do too!

    • kmn04books says:

      I loved this week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic! I’m still going around reading everyone’s confessions 😉 Good luck coming up with something of your own! I’m definitely still brainstorming… haha!

  4. Naomi says:

    I’m pretty sure that my blog is not very creative, but right now I am just happy to find the time to do it at all. I like to think it is creative of me to be doing it in the first place. 🙂 The most important thing for me when I read other people’s blogs is their enthusiasm. If theyare into it, then I probably will be too! It is amazing to me that there are so many book blogs out there, and they are all so different!
    I also loved that post Shannon did about Virginia! I’ve been trying to think about how I could do something similar, but realistically, I don’t think it will happen any time soon (but you never know). Being more creative is something I have to look forward to.

    • kmn04books says:

      You have your Quotes from Canada posts that I love! And I always find great posts in your round ups! I totally get the time thing though and that makes me wish I were the type to schedule posts! But I am a huge procrastinator so I don’t see that changing any time soon 😛 I agree that each blog is unique in their own way! I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts 🙂

  5. Milliebot says:

    I’m happy just doing my thing and hoping people enjoy, but obviously the goal is more readers. Sadly, I must admit that my blog is fairly run of the mill. I do the occasional meme and I have my Judging a Book by its Cover posts, where I showcase cool books I own, but otherwise just reviews. Maybe I stand out a little because I don’t always read up and coming or popular books? Not sure. Personally I follow blogs that review genres I enjoy and if they have other content, that’s a bonus.

    • kmn04books says:

      I loooved your Alice in Wonderland Judging a Book by its Cover Post! It was so cool seeing the different illustrations, and they’re all so gorgeous! I really like your most recent post (7 deadly books/sins) too – so there are definitely things that will keep me coming back to your blog again and again!

      • Milliebot says:

        Thanks! I really appreciate the feedback! I want to do more Judging posts. I bought all sorts of cool editions, it’s nice to show them off!

  6. Chelsey says:

    I think that just the fact that you aspire to be creative puts you a cut above :).
    My favourite thing about the blogs I follow is their voice – which is great because your voice is all your own. I love reading people’s opinions, thoughts and little snipits about themselves.
    Love the examples you gave here too!

    • kmn04books says:

      That’s a great point. I love reading blogs that show the bloggers’ personalities! I like reading about people’s opinions and snippets too; I think that’s why I liked this week’s Top Ten Tuesday theme so much – it was all about book bloggers’ confessions!

Leave a Reply

