Wishlist Wednesday | Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki Murakami

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki Murakami Book Cover Wishlist Wednesday

Source: Goodreads

I have a confession to make: I have never read anything by Haruki Murakami. I know, I know. I have no idea how I’ve been a reader this long and haven’t read anything by him yet but it’s true. So imagine my delight when I heard that his new novel Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage has been translated to English and is coming out in August! I think the universe was nudging me, whispering “It’s time…” Murakami’s name aside, Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage sounds like a book that I would definitely be interested in. Here’s the synopsis from Goodreads:

“Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage centers on a devastating emotional betrayal and its consequences. Tsukuru Tazaki belongs to a tight-knit group of five friends in high school–three boys and two girls who form a perfect circle they imagine will stay together forever. But when Tsukuru returns home from college in Tokyo, he finds himself inexplicably rebuffed by the group. Something has changed, but nobody, not even his closest friends, will tell him what.

Years later, Tsukuru, now a successful engineer, begins dating an older woman named Sara and confesses to her the shadow this betrayal has cast over his life. Sara urges Tsukuru to try to find his old group and to try to solve the mystery that has haunted him all these years: why did they suddenly turn on him?

On a quest to discover the truth, Tsukuru travels back to meet his old friends–with the exception of Shiro, the group’s most volatile and psychologically unstable member, who he learns was strangled to death in an unsolved murder six years ago. As the dark truth about Shiro reveals itself, Tsukuru must confront the simmering emotional undercurrents that the group had suppressed in order to reach their ideal of perfect friendship. 

Can love overcome isolation? Is it possible to truly reach another person? Can buried emotions ever really stay buried? And will confronting the past allow Tsukuru to finally open himself up to the future?”

Tsukuru sounds like such a complex character with a complicated past. I can’t wait to dive into the book and find out what really happened all those years ago!

Are you a fan of Haruki Murakami or are you new to his works like me? If you’re a fan, do you have any recommendations for me?

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage will be published on August 12th, 2014 in Canada by Random House of Canada.

12 thoughts on “Wishlist Wednesday | Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki Murakami

  1. Ri says:

    I haven’t read any Haruki Murakami, but my best friend loves his work. I borrowed her copy of 1Q84 before and I only got thirty pages in. That book is a tome! I think I might try again with a different, shorter book. Hahaha. 🙂

    • kmn04books says:

      Haha that is definitely a MASSIVE book. I’ve definitely shied away from it because of the length + because I’m not familiar with his work. I think Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage might be a good one to start with? I’m not sure, but it’ll definitely be my first Murakami 🙂

  2. writereads says:

    Sputnik Sweetheart was my first Murakami, and it was a wonderful introduction. Kakfa on the Shore is another favourite. I’m looking forward to getting this new one too. Can’t wait to hear what you think. – Kirt

    • kmn04books says:

      I’ve always been intrigued by Kafka on the Shore because of its name. I can’t wait to hear what you think of this new one either! We’ll have to discuss once we’ve read it 🙂

  3. Naomi says:

    I have never read any of Murakami’s books either. I plan to someday, but I also know by now that I can’t read everything, no matter how much I want to. I would like to read IQ84, but should maybe start off with something shorter. I think I will look into Kirt’s suggestions!

  4. Milliebot says:

    Personally I’ve only read 1Q84 – it was maybe not the best place to start in Murakami’s work. It was…interesting, but I felt like I missed the point. I would read more of Murakami’s work, but it’s not a priority.

    • kmn04books says:

      That makes sense. Sometimes when a work is long and you’re not familiar with the author’s style it can get confusing. I feel like at some point I will read something of Murakami’s just because he’s so famous in the literary world and I feel like a bad English Major/Literature lover for being so unfamiliar with his work. Maybe you’ll join me in reading this one? 😀

      • Milliebot says:

        This book does sound interesting! I do want to give him another shot, though I now have the fear that his writing is beyond my understanding. Don’t feel bad about what you haven’t read though – as an avid reader I know a lot of people expect that you’ve read all the classics and such. But we’re free to read what we please and of course no one can read everything! I hadn’t even heard of him until I stumbled across 1Q84 on a display table at a bookstore last year.

      • kmn04books says:

        Haha you’re right. It’s impossible to read EVERYTHING so I should just enjoy what I can get to. I think I’ll check this book out though, since it seems like a lot of people like his work. I hope you give it a try!

  5. La La in the LiBrArY says:

    I am mildly familiar with the name because I have heard a few people speak of his work, but I have never read any of his stories. The synopsis of Colorless has intrigued me. The author will be one I sample first from the library. Thank-you for blogging about this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

