Armchair BEA | Expanding Blogging Horizons

Paperback vs Hardcover

Today one of the topics for Armchair BEA is about expanding blogging horizons. It asks how we’ve “expanded on blogging in [our] own unique way.”

Since my page is relatively new, I haven’t really expanded much outside of my blog. During this past Bloggiesta, I managed to add more pages to my header and I fixed a few things so I felt like that was a nice accomplishment. I’m also not a fiction writer (I have SO much respect for everyone who is though!) so I’ve never written or published anything of my own. Frankly, I don’t know if I ever will. So that’s a no for me as well. But there is one thing that I am seriously considering: vlogging.

I can spend SO many hours on booktube. I love it! For those of you who aren’t familiar, booktube is basically the book-related vlogging community on Youtube. I love it because I feel like I actually get to know the vloggers; I can see what they look like and hear how they speak and inflect. I also find that it’s easier to “get” someone’s personality by watching their videos as opposed to solely reading their blogs. Because of this, I’ve been considering joining the community. My only reservation is that I wouldn’t know where to start! I’m also pretty shy in front of a camera, so that’s another thing that I would have to work on too. I think it would be so fun for you guys to see how I actually am in “real” life! I try my hardest to type the same way that I would speak, but it would be so much easier if you could just hear my voice say everything in real-time!

What do you think? Have you started vlogging because of your book blog or vice versa? Do you ever watch videos on booktube? What kind of videos do you like to watch if you do?

32 thoughts on “Armchair BEA | Expanding Blogging Horizons

  1. tanya (52 books or bust) says:

    I’m not into the whole vlogging thing. First I would never do it – get in front of a camera and put it out there for the world to see? No way! But also I love reading and with vlogs it’s like watching TV. Very captivating TV i’m sure, but still TV. I can spend hours reading blogs, but I;ve never felt the urge to jump on over to YouTube.

    • kmn04books says:

      That’s very fair. I know it’s not for everyone. Heck, I might never gather up the courage to do it myself! I do enjoy a good TV binge though, so maybe that’s why I love watching vlogs… hehe

  2. Naomi says:

    I’ve never even heard of booktube, but, by the sounds of it, I think I better stay away. I, too, would probably get sucked in! I have see a few vlogs done on people’s blogs, though, and they have been fun to watch. Maybe you could try it out on your blog first?

    • kmn04books says:

      I think that would be a good idea! I’m not sure if I’ll even end up doing it – it’s so nerve-wracking! I wonder what types of videos would readers/viewers would want to watch?

      • Naomi says:

        I haven’t seen many, but I saw Rory’s at Fourth Street Review, which I think was her top ten books for 2013. And Laura at Reading in Bed and Rick at Another Book Blog both did one for Novellas in November. If that gives you any ideas…

  3. Athira says:

    I’ve considered vlogging, but I’m too shy so I know I’ll probably not do it anytime soon. I have seen many video posts on a few blogs, but since I prefer reading, I end up always reading the text as opposed to watching, but I am in the minority, so don’t worry about that. šŸ™‚

    • kmn04books says:

      Haha. I can definitely see why reading could be more appealing than watching videos, especially if you’re in a public place or have a slow internet connection!

    • kmn04books says:

      That’s fair! If I start I don’t think I’d have a set schedule for it, maybe I’ll just vlog sporadically? I haven’t really thought about it because I still haven’t gotten over my “stage” fright! That’s great that you enjoyed it while you were doing it though šŸ™‚

  4. Andi (@estellasrevenge) says:

    I’M SO GLAD you’re thinking of vlogging! I fell it love with BookTube about a year ago, and my channel just passed 1k subscribers! I cannot even imagine why people want to listen to my accent, but I’ve SO enjoyed the community over there. šŸ˜€

  5. writereads says:

    I enjoy some of the vlogging, but I’m with Tanya that with my free time, I’m more into listening and reading than watching. But that’s just me. Having said that, I’ve been working on a video podcast on children’s literature so I hope there are enough people who like the video stuff for books :). I think book tube has a lot to offer and I love watching people get so enthusiastic about books. If it’s something you’re interested in, I say give it a go! -Tania

    • kmn04books says:

      Thanks Tania! If I can muster up the courage I think I might! Your podcast on children’s literature sounds great! How often does it/will it air? I would love to have a listen!

      • writereads says:

        Muster up! We’re all book lovers here and will support you šŸ™‚
        As for the video podcast we’ve got quite a bit recorded. It will probably air monthly starting in October, but getting the film crew together and getting our ideas sorted took awhile. Just getting two episodes together has taken months, but that’s mostly because it’s our first attempt at this. I expect it will get easier as time goes on, right?? šŸ™‚ -Tania

      • kmn04books says:

        I definitely think it’ll get easier! I filmed a trial video today that I don’t think will see the day! Haha. Good luck with your podcast! Can’t wait to check it out when it comes out šŸ™‚

    • kmn04books says:

      Yeah, I get that. It is a bit intimidating, especially since you don’t know who’s watching the videos and what they think of them (unless they leave a comment)! I still haven’t gathered the courage to do it, but maybe one day! Ps. thanks for your comment and sorry it took so long to respond!!

  6. Holly @ Words Fueled by Love says:

    Yikes vlogging scares me! For one – I’m not sure I could be serious enough to make it through talking to a camera and then having tons of other people listen to me ramble. My other problem is that I tend to ramble when I talk or get sidetracked easily or lose my train of thought. When I’m typing I can think out the best way to get my thought across – and even then it isn’t always extremely coherent. Ha! It’s much easier to be eloquent when typing than when speaking. I may have to check it out just to see though.

    Holly @ Words Fueled by Love

    • kmn04books says:

      Haha some vloggers I’ve watched have been true to their personalities and have been goofy in their videos! I think it’s definitely up to you how serious you want to be. And the great thing about editing is that you can cut out the ramble-y bits šŸ˜‰ But everyone has their preference, and if yours is typing/writing then that’s definitely all good too!

  7. The Paperback Princess says:

    I did not know that booktube was a thing but now I’m so curious! I’ve only had one experience with following a vlogger and it was totally different from reading a blog. In a good way! But I would have a hard time with actually doing it I think – being on camera is not my thing. I guess that’s part of pushing your boundaries though eh?

    • kmn04books says:

      Haha exactly! I still haven’t worked up the courage to do it, but maybe one day! They are fun to watch though. If you type “booktube” into the youtube search bar you’re in for a surprise – SO many great vloggers!

  8. msyingling says:

    Vlogging would be fairly easy for me- I’m a school librarian, so. Spend most of my time talking to students about books and giving recommendations. problem is that I don’t like getting my reviews that way (I read more quickly than I can watch things), so I haven’t really thought to do it. Maybe I should! Have fun with Armchair BEA.

  9. Chris Wolak says:

    I’m also fascinated by vlogging and need to experiment with some recordings before I decide to jump in or not. At this point I mainly catch some of Andi’s vlogs, but every time I go on there I find myself clicking away and finding other booktubers. I say go for it!

    • kmn04books says:

      Ohh experimenting with a video or two first is a great idea! That way you can decide not to publish it if you didn’t want to! I think I might! Hope to see you there soon šŸ˜‰

  10. Skeeter Lee (@KinkyVanillaRom) says:

    I just started watching booktube. I kinda want to join in but I must admit that I am intimidated. I tend to ramble so I would definitely need some editing software. For now, I channel creep and secretly add the recommendations to my TBR list. LOL!

    Who are you favorite book vloggers?

Leave a Reply

