Monday Musings | Reading Goals

Pastel Book Covers for Spring One More Page Blog

Hi everyone! I hope you had a great weekend and for my fellow Canadians, I hope you’re enjoying your long weekend! My weekend has been filled with reading, Coldplay (you NEED to listen to their new album, it’s fantastic), and a LOT of MarioKart. Anyway, as I’m sure you know, last week was Bout of Books which is a week long readathon. I did not participate officially, but I did follow the boutofbooks hashtag throughout the week and read my blogger friends’ daily updates. I was SO impressed by the amount of pages everyone was reading! I’m not sure what it is but month has not been a very good reading month for me. So far I’ve only read four books and I’ve only really loved one (No Relation by Terry Fallis. So good). Anyway, this had me thinking: What do you consider a good reading month?

Last month I broke all of my previous reading records by reading 10 books. I felt like I was on fire (in a good way…) and now this month has felt like a bit of a let down. Even page wise I know will not match last month or maybe even my monthly average… so that has kind of brought me down a bit. All of these thoughts have made me reflect on my reading goals. What is it really that I strive to do when I’m reading? Surely reading for the sake of finishing books or accumulating a certain amount of pages is unproductive? I think I have to step back and tell my competitive self that it’s not about the number I read but the content and what I’m getting out of every book I complete.

Do you set any reading goals for yourself? Do you feel pressure (especially if you’re a blogger) to read a certain amount of books/pages each month?

19 thoughts on “Monday Musings | Reading Goals

  1. Sandra says:

    I read for myself, quality over quantity! I was just thinking about this the other day because I got a little stressed that it was taking so long to finish a book. It wasn’t the book, it was me, I just didn’t feel like reading. This is not a feeling I am used to! Happily, I am back to reading now and recently bought 5 books that I am really looking forward to reading.

    • kmn04books says:

      I always find that buying/borrowing more books either really helps or adds to my anxiety! I’m glad to hear you’re back to reading now – that’s always a great feeling! And it’s great that you read for yourself. I do that too for the most part but since I started blogging I have felt the (unnecessary) need to read more than I use to. I think it’s because I’m exposed to so many more books now! Ah!

  2. LR says:

    You know what… I totally get it. I’m actually working on a post that’s all about book guilt and the pressure we put on ourselves. I think if there’s one thing I’m learning it’s that we’ll NEVER be able to read all the books we want to read. They come out to fast and rapid. So try not to beat yourself up too much and just enjoy the books that you do read.

    • Jen @ Book Scribbles says:

      I agree! You have to find a good medium. If reading starts to feel like a chore, you will bemoan having to read at all and miss out on lots of great reads. Was feeling a little weighted down by The God of Small Things this weekend such that I could tell I wasn’t getting as much out of it as I know I would have if I was reading it more leisurely. I finally just told myself to put it down and revisit later. So glad I did otherwise I don’t think I would have been able to fully appreciate it.

      • kmn04books says:

        Jen – That sounds like a great plan. I know that some people feel guilt over putting down books but with sooo many great titles out there it kind of makes sense to move on when you know you’re not getting something out of a book. I think there’s definitely a balance to that as well – at what point do you decide to put down a book? A lot of the time I hang on for too long because I feel like the ending or something in the latter part of the book will save/justify the first part!

      • Jen @ Book Scribbles says:

        Usually when I start to feel like I know I could be getting more out of it if I wasn’t trying to devour it in a day (like what happened on Friday with The God of Small Things). Otherwise, if I start exhibiting symptoms like an eye roll or headshake no (while by myself mind you), I realize I’m at the point of no return for that book. This doesn’t happen often, but it does happen.

    • kmn04books says:

      Lindsey – that’s great advice. I think my problem is totally the fact that there are SO many good books that I want to read and knowing that I’ll never get to read it all. But you’re right. Reading is for enjoyment; no need to put pressure on something that’s supposed to be relaxing! I’m looking forward to your post!

  3. Charleen says:

    I’d say eight or nine books is a typical month for me these days, although ten or more isn’t unusual. It’s definitely more than I was reading a few years ago, but I don’t think that’s a bad thing, it just means I’m spending more time reading. As long as I don’t actually speed up my reading to the point that I’m just skimming through books to get them off my list, I’m satisfied.

    • kmn04books says:

      That’s amazing! With the rate of great books coming out I hope to be at your pace soon but again I need to remind myself to just enjoy the reading and not make it all about the book count. Keep up the good work! 😀

  4. Naomi says:

    I often feel like I want to hurry up and read, because there are just so many good books I want to get to, but I don’t usually count pages or feel competitive about it. I just want to get to everything. I have to remind myself to just enjoy the book I am reading now, and try not to think about all the ones I haven’t read yet. Blogging has made this harder, because I see so many more good books and reviews than ever before!

    • kmn04books says:

      I agree! I never really felt this pressure before blogging, but now that I’m exposed to SO many great books, I just want to read them all! That’s great that you don’t feel competitive about it. I will admit much of the competitive feelings have been for myself – wanting to best last month’s accomplishments, etc but I’m beginning to see that it’s so counterproductive to think that way. It’s just in my nature! Now I’m just learning to relax and enjoy the books I’m reading 🙂

  5. The Paperback Princess says:

    I never look at what I read over a month – I think that would stress me out more than a reading goal for the year does! I find that even with a realistic (ish) yearly goal I still pass certain books in favour of others to hit that number. And that takes some of the joy out of reading!

    • kmn04books says:

      I do think that having too many goals diminishes the reading experience, so you’re wise to not care too much about it! I think I’m going to have to consciously lower my own expectations!

  6. Leah says:

    I don’t really set goals for myself, but I do track my reading, and I feel disappointed if my page count is significantly lower than usual one month. Many bloggers read a lot more books than I do in a month, and I just have to accept that everyone has different reading speeds and priorities, and that I will never be able to read 15 books in month. I usually get through 6 or 7, and that’s fine with me.

    • kmn04books says:

      6 or 7 is a great number! I think that’s where I would like to be, ideally. I’m not huge on comparing myself with other bloggers but I definitely am in the same boat as you where I feel disappointed if I don’t read as much as I did the previous month. Sigh. Again, I just need to manage my expectations and be easier on myself I think!

Leave a Reply

