Monday Musings | Giveaway Formats and Winner!

Starters and Enders by Lissa Price Book CoverHappy Monday, everyone! Tonight’s Monday Musing is especially exciting for me because I want to reflect on the giveaway that I just ran and pick the winner for it! As the giveaway drew to a close, I kept reflecting on how everything went and how I can improve for next time but I wasn’t getting very far. So I decided to go straight to you!

When I’ve entered giveaways in the past, they’ve either been through Rafflecopter, Facebook, or Twitter. This time I chose to go through Rafflecopter because I wanted everyone to have a chance to win – even those who aren’t on the other social media platforms. But I wonder if there were any drawbacks to using Rafflecopter such as the need to register for an account first or connect it to Facebook? What do you think?

To readers and participants: Was it easy to follow the Rafflecopter link and enter the giveaway? Were there certain parts about it that made it difficult for you to enter? Would you have preferred a different type of giveaway?

To fellow bloggers and giveaway hosts: Have you found one giveaway platform (Rafflecopter, Facebook, Twitter) to be more successful than others? Is there anything I should know as I prepare for my next giveaway? (Check back for that later this week… *wink*)

I would love to get any kind of feedback from you all! I want to make things as easy for my readers as possible, and your input will definitely help make that happen! 🙂

And now, for the fun part! The winner is… Jennifer Grant! You won signed copies of Lissa Price’s Starters and Enders! Please check your email and thank you to everyone for participating!

**Thank you again to Random House Canada for the books for the giveaway**

12 thoughts on “Monday Musings | Giveaway Formats and Winner!

  1. Jennifer says:

    Wow! Thanks so much again! I loved your giveaway – so easy compared to others I’ve entered in the past. Whatever platform you’re using is awesome!

    • kmn04books says:

      You’re welcome and that’s so good to hear! Depending on the feedback I get, I might just stick to using this – I did find it fairly straightforward to use for me too!

  2. La La in the LiBrArY says:

    I’m going to turn this around and pick your brain. I will be celebrating my first book blog anniversary in less than four months with a giveaway(s), and I want to know how easy/difficult Rafflecopter was to use as the blogger on the giving end.

    Also, I am curious, is there a way to re-shuffle the Rafflecopter to pick a second winner if the first one never replys, and can you do mutiple winners with Rafflecopter?

    • kmn04books says:

      Hello!

      Rafflecopter was extremely easy to use on my end. It took a few minutes to figure out how to set up the “requirements” (eg. Easy entry, follow on Twitter, etc) but after that it was really smooth sailing.

      There is a way to re-shuffle the Rafflecopter – there’s a button you can press to disqualify the first winner if you need to and they make it easy for you to check whether the entrant fulfilled the option they chose to fulfill too. And yep, you can pick multiple winners! You just press “Add a Random Winner” the number of times you need. Super easy!

  3. Shannon @ River City Reading says:

    I’ve always liked using Rafflecopter and had better luck with it than I did using Google forms, which is another common way of handling giveaways. If you’ve logged in once, Rafflecopter saves your information so you never have to login again…so I think it’s pretty painless for most people to use. Glad your first giveaway wen t well!

    • kmn04books says:

      Thanks, Shannon! It was a lot of fun! I agree with you that Rafflecopter is good in that it remembers your credentials so you don’t have to log in every time. Definitely makes it pretty convenient! I think I’m going to stick with it for my next giveaway.

  4. Sandra says:

    I don’t mind Rafflecopter unless there are too many requirements to earn entries, such as follow on every possible social media platform ever invented! I also haven’t figured out how to prove I tweeted about a giveaway, lol.

Leave a Reply

